BIRDSEYE VIEW OF THE CITY «OF NEWARK. Looking Southwest.

i.

^AcknoWledgn^ei^ts.

Photographs for this work by L. Schill, J. Rennie Smith, A. Valentine and Teush.

Engravings, with a few exceptions, by Photo- Engraving Co., Moss Engraving Co. and Hagopian Photo-Engraving Co., of New York.

The historical part of the work was written by Samuel J. Macdonald, and the compositions on manu- facturing industries by M. H. C. Vail.

The ink used is " Fine Wood Cut," manufactured by Frederick H. Levey Co., 59 Beekman Street, New York.

The paper is 100 lb. "Woodcut," made expressly for the book by M. Plummer & Co., New York.

Design for cover by A. Schlueter & Co.

Composition and presswork by Wm. A. Baker.

Binding by F. Enderlin & Son.

.

NEWARK, N. J.,

ILLUSTRATED.

A Souvenir of the City and its Numerous Industries.

PRESENTING IN A COMPACT FORM A BRIEF HISTORICAL SKETCH OF THE SETTLEMENT, GROWTH

AND FUTURE INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL IMPORTANCE OF THE CITY OF NEWARK,

AND CONTAINING PROFUSE ILLUSTRATIONS OF ITS GREAT FACTORIES,

BEAUTIFUL RESIDENCES, VARIOUS POINTS OF INTEREST,

PORtTtAfrS' OF PROMINENT CITIZENS, ETC.

f i»ffi2l!9BS )

DESIGNED BY PETER J. LEARY.

ISSUED BY APPROVAL OF THE BOARD OF TRADF.

PUBLISHED BY WM. A. BAKER, NEWARK, N. J.,

COPYR1GH1 (8gi.

Board of Trade of the City of Newark

i/©/©,

OFFICERS FOPv THE YEAR 1893.

President,

Vice-Presidents ,

Secretary,

Treasurer,

. SAMUEL ATWATER.

ELIAS S. WARD, JOHN B. STOBAEUS, S. S. SARGEANT.

P. T. QUINN.

. , . JAMES E. FLEMING.

DIRECTORS-

A. B. Twitchell, James A. Coe, James S Higbie, S. J. Meeker, William A. Ure, Rii.ey W. Bond, George W. Wiedenmayer

R. G. Salomon, A. E. Seliger.

COMMITTEES

STANDING COMMITTEES.

Arbitration Franklin Murphy, Ben- jamin Atha, Joseph Coult, Samuel C. Howell, James W. Miller.

Trade and Manufactures E. L. Phil- lips, George B. Jenkinson, Jr., Thomas B. Hagstoz, Louis Plaut, Frank Kellogg, G. Willis Peters, Samuel Froelich, Franklin Conklin, Charles Joy.

Transportation and Railroads John L. Armitage, Edward Balbaeh, D. T. Campbell, R. Wayne Parker, C. Feigen- span, E. G. Heller, Henry Merz, C. T. Williamson, George Brown, J. Miller Roe, George E. Halsey.

River and Navigation A. B. Twitch- ell, John H. Ballantine, Joel W Hatt,

George B. Swain, James S. Higbie, L. L. Carlisle, Walter Tomkms, Edward Balbaeh, Viner J. Hedden.

Internal Improvements L. Spencer Goble, George B. Jenkinson, Franklin Murphy, Edward Schickhaus, Edward O. Keasbey, O. C. Woolson, Hugh Smith, Robt. F. Maier, John L. Meeker.

Legislation Elias S Ward, Joseph Coult, Gottfried Krueger. M. T. Barrett, Gyrus Peck, P. T. Quinn, A. F. R. Mar- tin, C. S. Stockton, Harrison VanDuyne, A. A. Smalley.

SPECIAL COMMITTEES.

Frelinghuysen Monument (appointed to secure the erection of a suitable monu- ment to the memory of the late F. T.

Frelinghuysen)— Theodore Runyon, An- thony O. Keasbey, John F. Dryden, George S. Duryee, John A. Gifford, Thomas T. Kinney, J. Frank Fort, Eugene Vanderpool, R Wayne Parker, Robert F. Ballantine, George A. Halsey, Franklin Murphy, Edw. Kanouse, Ed- ward Balbaeh.

Fire Limits and Building Laws Wm. A. Ure, James S. Higbie, R. P. Conlon. George A. Hall, C. L. Whitfield, Wilbur A. Molt, Edward Heyden.

Puiilic Park Question Cyrus Peck, Stephen J. Meeker, Elias S. Ward, A. Q. Keasbey, A. B. Twitchell, S. S. Sar- geant, Thomas S. Henry, James E. Fleming, Edward Schickhaus, G. W. Wiedenmayer.

MEMBERS.

Atha, B. H. Arbuckle, James N. Armitage, John L. Atha, Benjamin Atwater, Samuel Ballantine, Robert F. Ballantine, John H, Ball, James T. Balbaeh, Edward Barrett, Michael T. Barnard, L. R. Bailey, Henry E. Banister, James A. Bond, Riley W. Bowers, James Brown, George Buerman, August Buchanan, Paul Beck, Theodore E. Brown, Gilbert C. Bonnel, Charles I. Brientnall, J H. H. Bippart, Achille Butterworth, James Colyer, Joseph Colyer, John Conklin, Edward L. Conklin, Franklin Curtis, William H. Campbell, D T. Carhuff, Ellis R. Carlisle, Lewis L. Clark. William Clark, William Campbell Clark, J. William Chapman, Herbert W. Carrington, Edward M. Conk, George W. Colton, Charles A. Cory, James M. Coe, James A. Coe, Theodore Compton, Charles W. Contrell, lohn P. Conlon, Redmond P. Coult, Joseph Cressy, Thomas

Crane, Edward N. Davis, Simon Doremus, Elias O. Doremus, H. M. Doremus, Wilbur Doolittle, Henry N. Drake, Elkanah Dryden, John F. Duryee, George S. Durand, Wickliffe B. Dieffenbach, R. G. P. Davidson, John Dunn, Edward Eberhardt, H. E. Eagles, Alexander Farmer, William C. Fearey, Frederick T. Feigenspan, C. Fleming, James E. Fort, J. Frank Froelich, Samuel Gordon, William E. Gilmour, L. D. H. Gray, George R. Greenfield, William G. Gifford, John A. Goble, L. Spencer Gray, Theodore Griffith, T. W. Halsey. George A. Halsey, George Everett Halsey, Silas C. Hall, George A. Harris, F H. Hays, James L. Hauck, Peter Hensler, Joseph Hedden, Viner J. Heller, E. G. Heinish, Rochus Henry, Thomas S. Holbrook, A. P. Hnrn, Theodore Hopper, B W. Howell, Samuel C. Howell, N. P.

Higbie, James S. Hill, Charles E. Hyatt, John W. Hagstoz, Thomas B. Hatt, J. W. Heyden, Edward Higginson, George Hill, William Hodge, James Hartshorn, E. F. Illingsworth, John 111, Dr. Edward J. Jelliff, John Jenkinson, George B. Jenkinson, G. B, Jr. Jepson, H. E. Joy, E. Luther Jube, John P. Johnson, Theodore F Jacobi, A. W. Joy, Charles Jost, Edmund Kirk, William H. Kinney, Thomas T Kinsey, Moses Krueger, Gottfried Kalisch, Samuel Kisling, E. J. Kuser, John L. Kanouse, Edward Keasbey, A. Q. Keasbey, Edward Q. Kellneri William H7 Klotz, Samuel Kellogg, Frank Keer, Frederick Lawrenz. Dr. Charles Barter, Frederick H. Lehman, Charles A, Lowy, Philip Lelong, Louis Lebkeucher, J. A. Lindsley, J. H. Linihan, William J. Matthews, Charles B. Miller, Francis L.

Meeker, John L. Macdonald, Samuel J. Michael, Oscar Merz, Henrv Mott, Wilbur A. Martin, A. F. R. Maier, Robert F. Mayo, Benjamin J. Meeker, Stephen J. Miller, James W. Milne, Alex. Mullin, Michael A. Murphy, Franklin Mnndv, Henrv H. Olds, Franklin M. Ogden, William W. Parker, Cortlandt Parker, R. Wayne Parker, Robert M. Palmer, Theodore G, Phillips, Edward L. Plum, Stephen H. Peck, Cyrus Palmer, Arthur W. Plaut, Louis Peters, G. Willis Quinn, P. T. Raymond, George B. Regan, ThomasJ. Reilly, Patrick Reilly, James E. Richardson, Christopher Roberts, Christopher Ross, P. Sanford Romer, C. W. A. Runyon, Theodore Riker, Chandler W. Roemer, William Rothschild, Abram Roe, J. Miller Reeve, George W., Jr. Sargeant, S. S. Sayre, fames R., Jr. Salomon, R. G. Schickhaus, Edward Scheuer, Simon

Selby, William Seitz. Carl F. Sehwerin, Morris Sehuetz, Frederick A. Seliger, Alfred E. Smalley Andew A. Smith, E. Fayette Stumpf, Jacob L. Schultz, Herman Smith, Hugh Smith, William Maekin Southard, Dr. Lott Stapff, Julius Stobseus, Jhon B. Stockton, C. S. Sutphen, C. Edgar Smith, George L. Salomon, W. J . Swain, George B. Titus, William Tompkins, William L. Tomkins, Walter Thomas, Lemuel Twitchell, A. B. Unger, Herman Ure, William A. Vanderpool, Eugene Van Winkle, Abram Vandeveer, J. Warren Van Duyne, Harrison Van Horn, Amos H. Voigt, Beda Ward, Elias S. Ward, Dr. Leslie D. Weston Edward Weidenmayer, Geo. W. Wilkinson, Frank A. Walsh, John Wilkinson, George Whitfield, Charles L. Woolson, O. C. Wheeler, Charles W. Williamson, C. T. Williams, George A. Wightman, D. C. White, Nathaniel H.

Introduction-

HE designer, in the projection of this work, had in view a volume which should give the country, at an important time in its industrial affairs, some idea of the relation which Newark hears to the manufacturing world. The Columbian World's Fair was then being actively canvassed, and it was thought essential that the volume should be in time for that important industrial event. A Newark mechanic himself, he felt a personal pride in designing and producing something that would bear inspection and warrant approval. How well he has succeeded must be left to the judgment of the manufacturers of Newark, and those allied with her industries. In the prosecution of the work there have been impediments not within the control of the designer, and there were vexatious delays which were unavoidable. That the project has been carried to completion must be credited to the generosity of the business men of Newark, without whose material assist- ance the work could not have been finished.

The work presents a clear and complete view of the City of Newark, as it ejyj|ts to-day, in all its vast and varied interests and industries. A brief historical sketch oflhe city is given, and an account of the humble origin and surpassing growth of the manu- facturing industries which have made the city great, wealthy and famous ; but the chief purpose of the work is to reverse the ordinary methods of history, and dwell more largely upon the Present, with its powers and possibilities, than upon the dim and meager details of the Past. From this view of the Present may be gathered, it is believed, some slight idea of the vastness and the glory of the Future.

THE INDEX

GENERAL DIVISIONS.

[ntroductory, - - I- S

Histokical ; Growth of Manu-

i v. i okies, - 9- 23

The City of Newark To-Day, 24- 43 C01 my Institutions & Offices, 44- 51 United States Offices, - -51-54

Educational Institutions, - 55- 65

Churches, Hospitals, Etc., - 66- 77 Industries and Miscellany, - S3-2S0

INDEX TO SUBJECTS.

Introductory.

Title Page, - - - 1 Board of Trade, - 2 Introduction, 3 Table of Contents, - 4-7 National, State and City Govern- ment, 1S93, - - 8

Historical.

The Early Pioneers, - 9

Governor Carteret and the In- dian Deed, - 10

List of the Inhabitants from

Branford, - - - n

Designating the New Town

Newark in the Early War Times,

Political Incidents,

The Revised Charter, and Divis sion by Wards,

The Church History of the Town,

The College of New Jersey,

Rise and Growth of Manufactures in Newark,

The City Government.

Introductory, - - - -

The Mayor and Common Council,

The Aldermen in 1S92,

Various Boards, Commissioners, etc., and heads of City De- partments, - - -

Court Officers,

Bridges, over the Passaic,

Board of Health, -

Police Department,

Fire Department,

County Offices.

Judges, Sheriff, Clerk, Prosecutor, Surrogate, Register and Au- ditor,

Board of Freeholders, and Asy- lum for the Insane,

United States Offices.

Internal Revenue Department, 51- Post Office, - - -53-

12 13

'4

15

16-19

20

24 25 26

26-

2S- 29-

33" 35" 41-

H

47-

27 29 32 34 40

43

47 51

Educational,

Public School Commissioners, Newark Technical School, Lafayette Street School, Newark Academy, St. Benedict's College, St. Vincent's Academy, St. Mary's Academy, Newark Business College, New Jersey Business College, Coleman National Business Col- lege, Eighteenth Avenue School, St. John's School, St. James' School, -

55

■57 57 5S 59 60 61 61 62 63

64 65 69 70

Churches, Hospitals and Char- itable Institutions.

Franklin Street M. E. Church, - First Presbyterian Church, Park Presbyterian Church, St. James' R. C. Church. St. John's R. C. Church, - Charitable Institutions, City Hospital, St. James' Hospital, St. Barnabas Hospital, St. Michael's Hospital, German Hospital, Krueger Pioneer Home, for Aged Men, -

INDUSTRIAL, ETC.

72 1S-19

66-67 70-71 6S-69

73-77 27.75 71 74 74 75

76

Academies, Architects,

A

13

Bag Frames,

Bicycles,

Boiler Makers,

Boot and Shoe Manufacturers,

Brass Foundries,

Britannia Ware,

Brush Making, 175,

Breweries, -

Builders,

Button Hooks,

c

Carriages, - - -

Carriage and Wagon Springs, Carriage and Wagon Wheels, Coal and Wood, Chemical Works, -

D

Draughting,

Electrical Appliances, Electric Cars,

59-61

236-24S

170 266-267

163 103-107 149-162

152 176. 198 242-24S 190, 207

177

192

161

200

23S-240

164-165

133

m-114 224-225

Express Companies Electric Fixtures, Electric Lighting, - Embroidering, - Enameling, Engraving,

PAGE

220-222 21T

166-167 210 13S

136-137

K

File Manufacturers, 15S-159

Fancy Goods and Novelty Manu- facturers, - 170, 193

G

Gas Companies, Gas Fixtures, - Grey Iron Castings,

Harness Manufacturers, Hat Manufacturers, Hat Blocks, Horse Collars,

Insurance, Life, Iron Foundries, Iron, Malleable and Grey,

J

Jewelery,

Leather Manufacturers, Lead Pipe,

Letter & Document Files, Lumber, - - -

M

Machinery, etc. , Mechanical Engineer, -

Newspapers,

N

O

Oil Cloth Manufacturers,

Painting, -

Patents,

Pianos,

Photography,

Photo Engraving,

Platinum Refining,

Printing,

R

Railways, Electrical Railways, Rivets, - Real Estate,

230-233 211

155

i.S:

icg

179

-1S3

no

227 155 145

I I5-I2B

S3-I02

176

191

IS5

143-150

138

7S-S0

178

20S 172 266

29, 271 270

130

253

224-225 215-219

141 234-237

TABLE OF CONTENTS.

PAGE

Saddlery Hardware, - 168, 171

Saw Making, - - 146

Sewing Machines, - - 266

Shade Rollers, 192

Shears and Scissors, - 146

Shirts, - - 176

Shipbuilding, - - 1S1

Silversmiths, - - - 124, 133

Smelting and Refining, - - 129

PAGE

Sportsmen's Goods, 10S

Steel Works, - 15S

Stone Works, - - 201-20S

.Steam Gauge, Movements and

Counters, 154

T

Trunks and Bags. - - 212-213

u

Ultramarine Blue, - 160

Undertakers, - 255-258

w

Wagon Builders, Watch Cases and Material, Wood Working, - 1S0

Window Shades.

Zinc and Iron Works,

PAGE

1S6, 222

122-12S

1S5, 187-191

261

142

LIST OK ILLUSTRATIONS.

A

Alsdorf & Co. ,

Alvin Manufacturing Co.,

Asylum for the Insane,

Atha & Hughes,

Atlantic Window Shade Co.,

B

Baker & Co., - Baldwin Homestead, Baldwin, Jos., & Co., - Banister Co. , James A., - Barnett, Oscar, Bea, John, - Benfield, Thomas, Bippart & Co. , Blackwood & Coykendall, Blanchard, Bro. & Lane, Boyden's Iron Foundry, 1S26, Boyden's Statue, - Boyden's Locomotive, built 1S3S, Broad street, North from Market, Broad street, South from Market, Broad street, looking North, Browe & Son, Wm., - Brown's Shipyard, Brown & Co., George, Burroughs, Charles,

c

Carter, Sloan & Co., - Cashion & Flynn, - Central Stamping Co., Chapin Hall Lumber Co. , Chapman, Herbert W. , Citizen's Gas Light Co., - City Hall, - City Home, City Hospital, - Clayton & Hoff Co., - Clawson, H. T., - Clinton Avenue and High Street, Cody, David,

Coleman National Business Col- lege, Compton, Charles W., Conroy & Weyrauch, Court House, Cooper & Co., Charles, Crescent Watch Case Co. , Cummings Bros., Currier & Sons, Cyrus

D

Daily Advertiser, - Day & Clark, - Delaney & Son, D., Demerest & Co., N. J., Devlin, F. & H. J., Dixon & Co., William -

PAGE

TAGE

Dixon, Edward P.

,76

266

Dixon & Rippel,

9s

-199

134-135

E

4S

178 26l

Edge Co., The W. C.

119

Ely & Sanford,

222

Engelberger & Barkhorn,

1S7

Essex Engraving Works,

140

130 21

Ehgine Company, No. 5, (Fire

Department.)

43

171

Eye and Ear Infirmary,

77

IO3-I04

K

145

Free Public Library,

77

no

Fairmount Cemetery Entrance,

277

124

Fairmount Cemetery View,

257

121

Feigenspan, Christian

246-248

263

Finter, Frederick

152

85

Finter&Co., -

1S6

22

Foster Home,

77

' Si

O

23

275 40 64

Goertz & Co., Aug.

170

Gould & Eberhardt, -

145

Group of Leather Manufacturers,

S3

211

H

1S1

Hagopian Photo Engraving Co.,

270

201

Harrison, C. H. & J. D.

86

' 177

Hartshorne, Stewart

192

Hauck & Co. , Peter -

245

Havell, George

241

115

Heinisch's Sons Co.,

146

90

Headley & Son, Wm. O.

214

173

Heller & Brothers,

I5S

-159

188-1S9

Heller & Merz Co., The

160

144

Hensler Brewing Co., Joseph

243

232-233

Herman &Co., J. F.

[82

-1S3

25

Howell & Co. , T. P. -

84

26

Home for Aged, Little Sisters of

75

the Poor,

77

260

I

1 50-1 5 1

Irvington Smelting and Refining

16

Works,

129

259

J

64

Jackson Awning Co.,

265

255

Johnston & Murphy, -

[05

-106

93

Jones & Co., Phineas

20O

44

Jost, Edmund

149

164-165

Joy & Seliger, Co.,

93

-195

123

K

96 143

Krementz & Co,

117

Krueger Brewing Co., The Gott-

fried - - - -

242

78 116

Krueger's Pioneer Home, for

Aged Men,

76

161

L

109

Landmarks,

2

0-21

162

Lefort, H. G.

128

175

Lelong & Bro., Louis

131

Lentz Company, The A. - Lehigh & Wilkesbarre Coal Co. , Lincoln Park and Washington St. Lyon & Co., L. J.

rVl

Maher & Flockhart, -

Market street, West from Broad,

Mayer & Son, M. -

Mayors of Newark, (Past)

Meeker Homestead,

Meier, Joseph -

Merchants Express Company,

Mullen, M. A. -

Munn, F. W.

Muller & Schmidt,

Mundy, Jos. S.

Murray, C. C. -

N Newark in 1790, Newark in 1S40, Newark Views, Newark Views, Newark Map,

Newark Bird's Eye View, (Inset) Newark Academy, Newark Blue Stone Co., - 202-

Newark Business College, Newark Electric Light and Power

Co., - - 166-

Newark Embroidery Works, Newark Evening News, Newark Gas Light Co. , - 230-

Newark Rivet Works, Newark Watch Case Material Co. 126- New Jersey Business College, New Jersey Zinc and Iron Co., - Neider & Co. , John Nenninger, Oscar A. Nobs, Charles

o

Ohl & Haefner,

Ohl & Co., George A.

Old Settlers Monument,

Old Synagogue,

Oppel's Sons, Charles

Osborne Co., C. S.,

Osborn Manufacturing Co., J. K.

P

Park Place and Military Park, - Pennsylvania avenue Residences, Penn. R. R., Market St. Station, : Police Squad, First Precinct, Police Squad, Second Precinct, - Police Squad, Third Precinct, Post Office,

Powers & McGowan, - Progress Club, Prudential Insurance Co.,

107

23S

15 163

155 273 204 279 21

99 220

25S

259 26S 148 256

10 n 17

277 280

59

-203

62

167

21c

79

231 141 ■127

63 142 102 132 125

147 223

19 in 1S4 169 262

12-13

234 15-217

35

37

3S

53

20S

271

227

o

Ouimbv & Co , W. Fred

R Real Estate, A. J. Gless, Real Estate, John M. Burnett, Reilly, John Reilly, James Reilly Bros..

Residence of Elias G. Heller, Residence of John J. Heller, Residence of William Clark, Residence of Andrew Albright, Residence of A. Chitting, Residence of Alfred Lister, de- ceased, - - - Residence of Richard E. Cogan, Residence of George A. Ohl , Residence of Charles Nobs, Residence of Charles W. Comp-

ton, R. C. Boice Coal Co. , Richardson Saw Works, Riley-Klotz Manufacturing Co ,

The 1 96

Ripley & Sons, David Robertson & Leber,

NEWARK, X /., 1L

'M.I

Rosnagel Co. , The

I08

Russell, C. M.

s

235

Sasnger Hall, -

2?4

Salomon's, R. G. -

92

Schaeffer, F. A.

205

Scheller, George A.

206

Schmidt & Son,

159

Schmitt & Co., F. J.

'59

Schuetz,& Son, Charles

277

Siedenbath, M.

2 76

Simon & Bros., Edward

271.

Smith, Hugh

Smith & Sons, L M. -

272

Springfield avenue,

2 74

Star Heel Plate Co.,

2 74

State Banking Company.

2/4

Star & Co. , W. L.

Steam Yacht Duplex,

255

Steffens & Co., A. T.

239

Stone, Thomas and G. M

146

Strauss, Moses

ILLUSTRATED.

PAGE

. 269 1 90

197

1 So 131

Toler, Sons & Co. Town Talk,

T

, John

249

91

98

120

1S5

147

11S

,89

2 12-2 13

ss

94 224 209 226

174

1S1

16S

136-137

9 5

156-157 So

PAGE 153

S7

Traud, Alexander Trier, Reuben

Tucker Letter and Document File Company,

u

Ultramarine Blue Works,

United States Credit System Co. , 22S-229

w

Washington Place and Washing- ton Park, Washington Street and Park, Weston Electrical Instrument

Co.,

Weston's Private Labratory, 112

Weidenmayer's Newark City

Brewery - 244

Winters, C L, no

Witzel & Co , H. P. 97

Y

Yates, Wharton & Co., - 179

z

Zahn Leather Co., The William 100-101 Zusi, Edward - 162

10 1

160

51 14

m-114

A

PAGE

Alsdorf, E.

267

Astley, William C.

42

Atwater, Samuel -

Si

B

Baker, Henry R.

41

Baker, S. R.

So

Baker, Wrn. A

So

Baldwin, A. A.

1S9

Baldwin, Joseph

171

Banister, James A.

104

Barkhorn, Wm H.

1S7

Barr, Thomas C. -

224

Barrett, Michael T. -

49

Bassett, Allen Lee

Si

Bein, E. J.

191

Bell, John S. -

2S

Bertram, John J. -

50

Bippart, A.

121

Blanchard, Noah F. -

86

Boy den, Seth

86

Brady, Rev. J. Boyd,

72

Bradley, Daniel

139

Brown, William H.

- 37.237

Brown, George

201

C

Cahill, Owen A.

47

Cashion, Richard

90

Cavanagh, Thomas F.

51

Chapman Herbert W. .

144

Christie, James

30

Clark, A. Judson. Sr.,

27

Clark, A. Judson, Jr..

27. 191

Clark, J. H.

3S

Clark, William A.

5f-

Clark, Jacob

207

Clark, Joseph

5S

Clawson, H. T.

150

Clawsou, C. C.

150

Clayton, C. C.

260

Cody, Rev. P.

71

Cogan, Richard E,

45

Coleman, Henry

64

Compton, Chas. W.

255

Condit, H. C.

191

LIST OR PORTRAITS.

PAOE

Conroy, John F. 93

Conklin, Edward L. - 53

Connolly, Arthur - - 236

Contrell, John P. 56

Corbitt, Michael - 39

Corbitt, William 32

Corish, Patrick H. 210

Courleander. B. Jr., - 217

Coulter, W. F. 263

Crane, Elvin W. 44

Crane, S. O. 192

Craig. A K. - 139

Cummings, Bernard 96

Cummings, John 96

Cummings, James 96

Currier, Cyrus, Sr., - 143

Currier, Osceola - 36 D

Daly, Dr. J. J. 52

Daly, William P. - 39

Dejong, Solomon 46

Delaney, Daniel - Hn

Delaney, John M. - 161

Demarest, N. J. 109

Demarest, Daniel - 109

DeVausney, Marcus L. - 43

Dill, Dr. D. M. 52

Dilly, Henry - 36 Dixon, Edward - - 176,19s

Dixon, William . - 175

Dougherty, Henry J. - - 65

Drake, Oliver - - - 172

DuBois, J. A. - 267

Duncker, Frederick N. 253

Dunn, Edward - 33

Dusenberry, John B. - 45

E

Eastwood, Evan - - 120

Edge, William C 119

Egbert, William V. - 210

Eh-. John II. - 34

Enderlin, Fredinaud - 264

Enderlin, Fredinand, Jr. - - 264

English, Dr. Thomas Dunn - 47

Engelberger, Fred - 1S7

PAGE

Faitoute, J. B.

252

Farrand, S. A -

59

Feigenspan, Christian

24S

Fiedler, William H. F

22S

Finter, Frederick

152

Finter, Frederick -

1S6

Finter, William F.

1S6

Fleming, James E.

82,23s

Flockhart, James -

155

Flynn, Thomas

90

Freeman, William H.

57

French, Rev. J. Clemment

67

Furman, John A. -

34

G

Gallacher, Thomas

2^2

Geissele, Hugo J.

45

Gerth, Theodore J.

197

Gleason, H. P.

106

Gless, A. J.

235

Glori, Charles -

39

Goble, William H

207

Goertz, August

170

Grebe, Ferdinand

261

Gwinnell, John M.

253

H

Hagstoz, T. B.

122

Hall, George A.

222

Harrison, J. D.

86

Hauck, Peter -

245

Haussling, Jacob

44

Havell, George

241

Hayes, Howard W.

38

Haynes, Mayor Joseph E.

25

Heath, John J.

10S

Heinkel, George

30

Heller, Elias M.

29, 15S

Heller, Frederick -

160

Henderson, Joseph

3i

Hensler, Joseph

243

Herman, J. F.

1S3

Hine, Edwin W.

46

Hines, A. R.

254

Hinckley, Livingston S.

4S

TABLE OF CONTENTS.

Holbrook, Alexander P. Hood, Charles, Hooper, Irvin G. Hopper, B. W. Hopper, Henry Howell, T. P. Huegel, John Hunkele, John Hunt, John O. Harrison, C. H.

I

Iffland, John 111, Henry,

J

Jackson, J. Wesley

Jamouneau, William H. Janes, Dr. John E. Johnston, James Jost, Edmund Joy, Charles

PC

Kalisch, Abner Kaliseh, Leonard - Kaas, Adam Kellog, Frank Ketcham, George W. Kierstead, Robert Kinnard, Hugh Kinney, T, T. Kienle, A. Kleinhans, Jacob Klemm, Henry C. Klotz, Samuel Kraemer, Dr. C. H. Kruttschnitt, G. A. Kubler, Albert ]-. Krueger, Gottfried, Krueger, John F. - Krueger, Gottfried C.

L

Lacey, Samuel P. Landmesser, Charles Large, George H. Larue, George H. Lawshe, Lewis H. Lavvshe, Theodore Leary, Cornelius Lcfort, Henry - Leibe, Henry L. Lenz, August - Linnett, Thomas, Jr. Lister, Alfred Little, Henry M. - Loeffler, Henry Long, Charles E. - Lovecraft, F. A. Lowy, Philip

M

Macknett, Morris D. - Maher, Edward Mathews, Charles B. - Maxwell, C. W. - Mayer, M. Mayer, M. - Maybaum, L. McDonald, J. E. - McGIynn, Hugh McGregor, Austen H. McGregor, John McKittrick, James G. McManus, Andrew J. Meier, Joseph Merz, Henry Miller, C. T.

PAGE

253

56

24S

2IS

37 S4 31

2S

57 S6

24S 157

265

134

65

106

149 194

51 49 16S 176 49 42

4i

7S 121 164

56 197

65 147 140 242 242 242

253

1S3

47

29

22 I

46

12s 134 107 176 272 138 137

2oq 122

28

N G.

36

21 [

155 220 202 204 204 228 122

57 219

218

54 39 99 I fin 63

Miller, Phillip - Milne, Alexander - Moran, James - Morrison, W. Morris, William F. Muller, Charles Mullin, Peter M. Mulvey, Martin, Mundy, Joseph S. Murray, C. C.

Nadler, Dr. Henry Neider, John Nichols, Thomas Nobs, Charles & Sons

o

O'Connor, William F. Ohl, George A. Oppel, August T. Oppel. Berthold O.'Rourke, William J. Otis, William F. - Otto, John

Park, Charles Pell, Charles H. Pello, Frank D. - Pemberton, Samuel H. Pfeil, Charles Philippson, Julius, Plumb, D. S. - Poels, Rev. J. P. - Pollock, Thomas H. Powell, Joseph Price, Louis M. Prieth, Louis A.

o

Ouinn, P. T. -

re

Rabenstein, George - Rabone, William L. Reilly, James, Reilly, John Reilly, John E. Reilly, Thomas Ripley, David Richardson, W. S. Rittenhouse, Stacy B. Roden, Dr. Hugh'p. - Roder, Paul W. Rodrigo, John A. Roth, Dr. Phillip - Roos, T. Rork, S E. Runyon, O E. Rutan, Mellville M. Russell, Charles M. - Rj'no, Watson

S Schaeffer, F. A. Schaeffer, II. P. - Schalk, Herman - Scheller, George A. Schickhaus, Edward - Schmidt, Ferdinand Schmidt, Henry A. Schmitt, F. J. Schill, Otto K. Schlesinger, Louis Schlueter. Albert - Schuetz, Charles - Schuetz, Frederick A. Seliger, Alfred E. Silverberg, Isaac L. Sippel, August A.

PAGE

237 126 207 264 251

ICO

47 62

14S 256

49 197 125

223 1S4 184 106

54 250

120 1 72 209 26 20S 161

154 69

175

138

42

236

82

50

54

205

92

206

206

1 So

127

65

52

33

40

32

i2I 122 236 240 IQO 31

98

9S

28

120

41

185

185

I4S

254

237

137

11S

118 194 107 250

Smalley, Andrew A. -

233

Smith Harry W. -

211

Smith, James R.

217

Smith, J. Rennie -

271

Smith, James T.

SS

Smith, Samuel A. -

45

Smith, Thomas -

50

Smith, Hugh -

SS

Smith, L. M. & Sons

94

Sommer, J. L.

177

Stappf, Julius

226-22S

Steadman, Albert

108

Stobaeus, John B

S2-164

Stonaker, E. H.

25S

Stone, George M.

136

Stone, Thomas

136

Strahan, John W.

36

Strauss, -Moses -

95

Suthpen, Dr. J. S.

57

T

Taylor, George

54

Taylor, John

189

Terrill, Charles A.

240

Theberath, Charles M. -

174

Thorn, John B.

273

Thome. Joseph

254

Titus Dr. William

33

Titus, George M. -

46

Toler, John

157

Townsend, Isaac W. -

42

Trefz, Charles

50

Trier, Reuben -

87

Trippe, Joseph E. -

1 52

Tucker, W. H.

191

Turnbull, Alexander

192

u

Ulrich, Benedict

30

Ulrich, Peter

34

Utter, William F.

53

Utter, J Norris

152

V

Van Horn, Amos H.

269

Van Houton, James H.

41

Van Ness, Benjamin H. -

40

Van Steenberg, William -

207

Vogel, Aloys

140

Vogt, Beda

249

Volz, Christian

257

w

Wangner, William

34

Wakenshaw, William -

251

Ward, Eli as S.

82

Ward, William -

251

Wegle, John

250

Wester, Edward

170

Westervelt, John E.

20S

Weston, Edward

112

Weyrauch, George

93

Wharton, John

'79

Wheeler, Frederick M.

228

Whitehouse, Edward A

16S

Wiedenmayer, George C.

244

Wiedenmayer, George W.

244

Wiener, Oscar

171

Wilson, William B. -

Williams, S. M. -

219

Winner, W. W.

62

Woodruff, E. B.

25S

Woodward, A. H. -

202

Witzel, H. P.

97

Y

Yates, H. J.

179

Young, John F.

29

z

Zahn, William

ICO

Zeh, Dr. C. M.

33

Zipf, Arthur

222

Zusi, Edward

62

National, State and City Governments,. 1893

Q/W&W^Mi

President of the United States, . Vice-President of the United States,

United States Senators from New Jersey,

Member of Congress from Newark,

Governor of New Jersey.

M u or of New ark,

Presideni or hie Common Council,

Cm Clerk, ....

GROVER CLEVELAND ADLAI STEVENSON

S John r. Mcpherson

j JAMES SMITH, Jr.

DR. THOMAS DUNN ENGLISH

GEORGE T. WERTS

JOSEPH E. HAYNES

JOHN F. MAI-IAN

WILLIAM E. O'CONNOR

STANDING| COMITTEES OF COMMON COUNCIL, FOR 1893.

(Last, under the old System.)

Finance Aid. Furman, Johnson, Goeller, Larue, Dusenberry,

Harrigan, Fitzsimmons. Streets and Highways Aid. Stainsby, Fitzsimmons, McCor-

mack. Lynch, Parker, Henderson, Burgesser, Huegel,

Ryno, Arnold Larue, Hausman, Roehrich, Ulrich,

Wangner. Sewers and Drainage Aid. Huegel, Kane, Seiler, Ely, Smith,

Roehrich, Bioren. Police Aid. Lynch, Ryno, Burgesser. Fire Department Aid. Kane, Olvaney, Ely. Poor and Alms Aid. Olvaney, Furman, Stainsby, Lynch,

Dusenberry. Public Lighting Aid. Ryno, Seiler, Stainsby, Arnold, Larue. Public Markets Aid. Henderson, Johnson, Goeller, Kane,

Furman. Public Grounds Aid. McCormack, Smith, Hausman. Public Buildings Aid. Burgesser, Harrigan, Ulrich, Lynch,

Kane. Public Health Aid. Seiler, Schaefer, Wangner.

Public Schools Aid. Goeller, Parker, Ely. Public Baths Aid. Roehrich, Hausman, Larue. Printing Aid. Larue, Dusenberry, Fitzsimmons. Stationery Aid. Ely, "Parker, Olvaney. Licenses Aid. Fitzsimmons, Ryno, Seiler. Legislation Aid. Harrigan, Johnson, Henderson. Assessments Aid. Parker, Goeller, Freiensehner. Elections Aid. Schaefer, Wangner, Harrigan. Crosswalks Aid. Wangner, Smith, Furman. Railroads and Franchises -Aid. Dusenberry, Roehrich, McCor- mack . City Home. Aid. Smith, Shaefer, Huegel.

Water Supply Aid. Johnson, Furman, Schaefer, Bioren, Bur

gesser. Bridges Aid. LTlrich, Wangner, Henderson. Hospitals— Aid. Ely, Hausman, Schaefer.

Wharves Aid. Bioren, Smith, Heller. Sidewalks Aid Heller, Hausman, Olvaney.

CITY OFFICERS.

City Counsel William B. Guild

Assistant City Counsel Samuel J. Macdonald

City Attorney James A. Dempsey

Comptroller James F. Connelly

City Clerk William E. O'Connor

Assistant City Clerk Peter J. O'Toole

Auditor of Accounts Fernando C. Runyon

Receiver of Taxes Martin Issler

City Surveyor . . . . Ernest Adam

Superintendent of Fire Department William C. Astley

Chief Engineer of Fire Department Robert Kiersted

Superintendent of Fire Alarm A. Bosch

Overseer of the Poor William A. Baldwin

Clerk of Centre Market George Hermon

fudge of First Precinct Court Howard W. Hayes

Judge of Second Precinct Court Redmond P. Conlon

fudge of Third Precinct Court Frederick Preisel

Superintendent of Police William H. Brown

Chief of Detectives Henry Hopper

Police Surgeon J. Henry Clark

Building Inspector D. H. Boughner

Meter Inspector August T. Schneider

Keeper of Public Clocks Charles Freeman

License Inspector James Fleming

Excise Inspector George Rabenstein

Sealer of Weights and Measures H. F. Geisheimer

Health Officer Dr. Charles Lehlbach

Superintendent of Alms House Frederick Nolan

A Ims House Physician Dr. C. L. Bradin

Superintendent of Lighting Joseph Samuels

President Board of Education James L. Hays

Superintendent of Public Schools William N. Barringer

Superintendent of Public Wharves William Corbitt

Supt. Street and Water Commissioners Charles Marsh

Meat Inspector Martin Runge

Milk Inspector Henry Negels

Janitor City Hall J. R. Bradshaw

Board of Assessment and Revision of Taxes— Phdip Lowy.

Marcus S. Richards, Paul W. Roder, Owen F. Conlon,

R. Heber Breintnall, and John J. Berry, Secretary. Commissioners of Adjustment of Newark Taxes Harrison

Van Duyne, James L. Hays, Theodore Hewson. Commissioners of the Sinking Fund Robert F. Ballantine,

Frederick Frelinghuysen, Frederick H. Teese, Mayor

and Comptrollor, Ex-officio. Board of Street and Water Commissioners Dr. Hugh C.

Hendry, President; Thomas Harlan, Ferdinand A.

Hahn, Reuben Trier, Samuel Klotz. Trustees of City Home— Mayor Joseph E. Haynes, President ;

II . T. Dusenberry, Treasurer ; C. M. Harrison, Secretary

and Superintendent; George W. Vernet, J. B. Richmond,

M. D., Dennis F. Olvaney, E. W. Crane, E J. Ill, M. D. Board of Fire Commissioners Edward Shickhaus, President ;

James Van Houten, Henry E. Baker, Hugh Kinnard, and

II. II. Brown, Secretary. Board of Police Commissioners John Strahan, President ;

Henry Dilly, Osceola Currier, Edward Maher, Joseph

M. Cox, Secretary. Board of Excise Herman Schalk, President ; Peter Grace, A.

Jcnkinson.

HISTORICAL.

U R Towne upon ye Pasaick River," which is to day the great manufacturing city of Newark, was not founded by manufacturers or mechanics, but by farmers. The little company of "planters," as they styled themselves, who voyaged hither from the province of Connecticut, 1 v) projected nothing more ambitious than a plantation, ' to use the language of the time, where they might reap the harvests and gather the fruits of independence, and "provide for their outward comfortable subsistence and their souls' welfare." The point on the Passaic at which they dropped anchor must at that time have presented a marvelously pictur- esque appearance. The river was then, in very truth, a sylvan stream. Its sinuous course rambled, as it were, through the deep woods, which, but for its silver trail, had been well-nigh pathless. Above the landing place of the pioneers it emerged into the open, and revealed the gentle slope of its southern bank, which rose in a succession of leafy terraces crowned by the more thickly wooded hills beyond. To the east lay a broad expanse of meadow land, losing itself in marsh as it neared the bay the voyagers had just left behind. Here were meadow and upland, valley and hillside, a fertile soil, abundance of water, good climate, the promise of sure and rich rewards for their labors. It was almost an ideal spot for the projected plantation, and here, accordingly, the adventur- ous planters brought their voyage to an end.

They came, these good men of New England, not seeking an asylum for religious liberty, but rather a stricter habitation than that from which they had come forth. Their discontent at home had been rather political than religious. Upon the restoration of Charles II. he had granted a new charter, by which the colonies of New Haven and Connecticut had been consolidated into one prov- ince. The laxity of the restoration period was not wanting in the new charter. The government of the province and its various settlements was no longer confined to the saints exclusively, but political privileges and a voice in affairs were extended to the ungodly and unregenerate. This to the more pious ones was an abomination and offense. As no good could come of remaining under so ungodly a dominion, the good people of Milford, Bran- ford and Guilford determined to make the only effective protest

open to them. They sought a new home, where they might found such a piously governed community as God would approve and bless. Their ideal was a sort of theocracy, modeled as nearly as might be on Mosaic lines, in which God should be the Ruler and the saints the instruments of His will.

Their first efforts to obtain a new settlement were made as early as November, 1661, in which month they opened negotia- tions with Peter Stuyvesant, Governor of the New Netherlands, for permission to locate in his province. The negotiations were neces- sarily slow, but seem to have dragged needlessly, and finally were almost practically abandoned, when the grasping and enterprising spirit of the English government at home put an emphatic period to all treaty with the sturdy StU5'vesant, and opened up a new avenue for those who wished to leave Connecticut behind.

Determined to oust the Dutch from the New Netherlands, Charles II. made his royal charter granting that province to his brother James, Duke of York. Immediately a small fleet was sent to America to put the prince into formal possession of his new province. The slow and sleepy Hollanders, lazily luxuriating in the rich town of New Amsterdam, were suddenly surprised and awakened by the appearance in the bay in the summer of 1664 of the English fleet. The English demand for immediate surrender found poor Stuyvesant utterly unable to defend himself, and finally, on August 27, 1664 (O. S.), a formal surrender of the New Netherlands was made.

But the avaricious Duke, eager to profit by his brother's princely gift, did not wait for possession to parcel out his new province. On June 23 and 24, 1664, he made grant to John, Lord Berkeley, and Sir George Carteret of "All that tract of land adjacent to New England, and lying and being to the westward of Long Island and Manhattan Island, and bounded on the east part by the main sea and part by Hudson's River ; and hath upon the west Delaware Bay or River ; and extending southward to the main ocean as far as Cape May, at the mouth of Delaware Bay ; and to the northward as far as the northernmost branch of the said bay or river of Delaware ; which is in 41 degrees and 40 min- utes of latitude and crosseth over thence in a straight line to Hudson's River in 41 degrees of latitude ; which said tract of land is hereafter to be called Nova Ca;saria, or New Jersey," etc., etc.

The new proprietors lost no time in taking possession of their territory. They appointed Philip Carteret, brother of Sir George,

NEWARK, X. /., ILLUSTRATED.

its Governor, and placed in his hands a constitution for the gov- ernment of the territory. These preliminaries arranged, Governor Carteret set sail for New Jersey, and arrived at his new domain in August, 1665. Soon after he sent messengers into New Eng- land to make known the concessions of the " Lords proprietors,'' and to invite settlers to take up lands in New Jersey under the very liberal terms set forth in those remarkable and advanced articles.

Here was the opportunity long sought for by the discontented ones of Milford, Branford and Guilford, and they made haste to embrace it. The men of Milford appointed a committee to visit the new province and learn if the glowing representations made of it were true. Their committee came, saw the country, inter- viewed the Governor, and returned to report favorably all they had seen and heard. The necessary grant was obtained from Governor Carteret, and in the Spring of 1666 the first little band of settlers, numbering about thirty persons, set out from Milford for the new

bareing a west line for the south bounds, which said great crekeis commonly called, and known by the name Weequachick, on the West Line backwards in the Country, to the foot of the great mountaine called Watchung, being as is Judged about seven or eight miles from Pesayak towne ; the said mountaine as Wee are Informed, hath one branch of Elizabeth towne River running near the above said foot of the Mountaine ; the bounds Northerly, viz. : Pesayak river reaches to the Third River above the towne, ye river is called Yauntakah, and from thence upon a North West line to the aforesaid Mountaine."

The consideration given the Indians was complex and character- istic of the parties and the time. It is thus set forth in the deed : " Fifty double-hands of powder, one hundred barrs of lead, twenty Axes, twenty Coates, ten Guns, twenty Pistols, ten Kettles, ten Swords, four blankets, four barrels of beere, ten paire breeches, fifty knives, twenty howes, eight hundred and fifty fathem of wampun, two Ankors of liquers or something equivolent, and

Lq&gWMMR

"VIEW OF NEWARK, N. J., IN 1790, TAKEN FROM AN OIL PAINTING

plantation. In May the adventurers arrived at their destination and proceeded to debark and enter into their new possessions. But here they found other proprietors to deal with, not so cour- teous or hospitable as the diplomatic Governor. Indians appeared and forbade their landing, notifying them of the claim to own- ership of these lands by the Hackensack tribe. New negotiations had to be entered into with the Indians, and the thrifty pioneers did not allow their piety to prevent their obtaining a very good bargain from the red men.

The Indian deed, which bears date Jul}' nth, 1667, or more than a year after the advent of the settlers, conveys to the lat- ter "a certain tract of land, upland and meadows of all sorts, whether swamps, rivers, brooks, springs, fishings, trees of all sorts, quarries and mines, or metals of what sort soever, with full liberty of hunting and fowling upon the same, excepting liberty of hunt- ing for the above said proprietors that were upon the upper com- mons, and of fishing in the above said Pesayak River, which said tract of Land is bounded and limited with the bay eastward and the great River Pesayak, northward, the great creke or river, in the meadow running to the head of the cove, and from thence

three troopers Coates." This deed was duly recorded in the East Jersey Records March 2, 1676-7, Lib. 1, fol. 69.

A^ery shortly after the landing of the settlers their first formal meeting of which any record remains was held. The minutes of this meeting recites that "In the Province of New Jersey, near to Elizabeth Town, and the Town Plotts on Passaic River, made choice of by friends from Milford and other neighboring planta- tions thereabouts from New England, on the twenty-first day of May, one thousand six hundred and sixty-six, the above-mentioned persons had a meeting, together with the agents sent from Guil- ford and Branford, to ask on behalf of their undertakers and selves with reference to a township or allotments, .together with friends from Milford," etc. This minute would seem to indicate that the pioneers had been followed by "the agents sent from Guilford and Branford," and that already some allotment of "Town Plotts" had been made. The desires of the "agents" were granted, and at this meeting it was agreed " that the agents from Guilford and Branford do take upon and hold till June, in the year one thousand six hundred and sixty-seven, and fully to dispose of, provided it be possessed, built upon and settled according to

NEWARK, N. J., ILLUSTRATED.

order, for their associates, for themselves, theirs and such as they shall send, provided that these last bring due testimonials to the committee there for the town, and they approve of them, lots, allotments in every division, equally priviledged, as far as may be with the rest of the planters, then being or to be," etc., etc.

This accord and agreement being reported to the men of Bran- ford, the)', in their turn, held a meeting October 30, 1666, and adopted and subscribed the following minute :

October 30, 1666.

" At a meeting Touching the Intended design of many of the inhabitants of Branford, the following was subscribed :

" 1st. That none shall be admitted freemen or free Burgesses Deut., 1-25. within our Town upon Pasaick River in the Province Exad., 18-31. of New Jersey, but such Planters as are members of Deut., 17-15. some or other of the Congregational Churches, nor shall any but such be chosen to Magistry or to Carry on any part Terem. -6-21. °f Civil Judicature, or as deputies or assistants, to

Such was the simple but rigid faith of the Branford pioneers, and such was their pious and watchful care, that the faith once delivered to the saints, as they believed, should be preserved in its pristine purity. Their watchful and uncompromising piety found full accord with the settlers who had preceded them, and a holy joy filled the breasts of the " present inhabitants."

Upon the reception of this minute and accompanying letters from the inhabitants of Branford, the settlers held a meeting in November and assented to the stipulations of the Branford men, and at a subsequent meeting held June 24, 1667, they indorsed upon the Branford minute their acceptance of its terms, as follows :

" And upon the Reception of their Letters and Subscriptions the present Inhabitants in November following declared their con- sents and readiness to do likewise ; and at a meeting the twenty- fourth of the next June following, in 1667, they also subscribed with their own Hands unto the two fundamental agreements Expressed on the other side their names, as follows :

. J !

VIEWS OF NEWARK

have power to Vote In establishing Laws, and making or repealing them, or to any Chief Military Trust or Office. Nor shall any but such Church Members have any vote in any such elections ; Tho' all others admitted to be planters have Right to their proper Inheritance, and do and shall enjoy all other Civil Liberties and Privileges, According to all Laws, Orders, Grants, which are or hereafter shall be made for this Town.

" 2d. We shall, with Care and Diligence, provide for the main- tenance of the purity of Religion professed in the Congregational Churches. Whereunto subscribed the Inhabitants from Branford :

" Jasper Crane, Abra Pierson, Sam'l Swaine, Laurance Ward, Thomas Blacthly, Samuel Plum, Josiah Ward, Samuel Rose, Thomas Pierson, John Warde, John Catling, Richard Harrison,

Ebenezer Canfield, John Ward, Senior, Ed. Ball, John Harrison, John Crane, Thomas Huntington, Delivered Crane, Aaron Blacthly, Richard Laurance John Johnson, Thomas h.'" Lyon."

N. J., IN 1840.

' Robert Treatt, Obadiah Bruen, Matthew Camfiei.d, Samuel Kitchell, Jeremiah Pecke, Michael Tompkins, Stephen Freeman, Henry Lyon, John Browne, John Rogers, Stephen Davis, Edward Rigs, Robert Kitchell,

his X

mark

Robert

his

Lymens,

mark

Francis f" Linle,

mark

Daniel Tichenor, John Bauldwin, Sen., John Bauldwin, Junr. Jona. Tompkins,

George Day, Thomas Johnson, John Curtis, Ephram Burwell,

his

Robert r Denison,

mark

Nathaniel Wheeler, Zaciiariah Burwell, William Camp, Joseph Walters, Robert Daglesh, Hauns Albers, Thom. Morris, Hugh Roberts, Epii'm Pennington, Martin Tichenor, John Browne, Jr., Jona. Seargeant, Azariah Crane, Samuel Lyon, Joseph Riggs, Stephen Bond,"

NEWARK, X. /., ILLUSTRATED.

It will be noticed that the signatures of " the present inhabi- tants " number forty-one, showing that if the pioneer bark in May, 1666, bore only about thirty persons, as all the historians agree, to the new plantation, the colony had in its first year of existence grown amazingly. Each signer doubtless was the head of a family, and if these families averaged only three persons beside the head, then the population of the colony in June, 1667, must have num- bered about 164, a fivefold increase in one year.

It is probable that the new settlement was at first named Mil- ford, although no name at all appears in the earlier documents and records of the town. It is said by the historians of the town that on the arrival of the settlers from Branford the name Milford was dropped and the name of Newark conferred on the new town, in honor, it is surmised, of Rev. Abraham Pierson, the pastor of the Branford people and the chosen pastor of the new settlement. Be this as it may, the first mention of any name in the town records occurs under date of January, 166S, when it is recorded

" any new Inhabitant shall arrive or come into Town to inhabit " with us ; it is agreed and ordered that he or they from Time to " Time shall in all Respects subscribe and enter into the same " engagements as his Predecessors or the rest of the Town have " done, before he or they can or shall be accounted Legal Inhabi- " tants in our Town, or have * * * * * Title to their Lands or " Possessions therein."

For many years the citizens, in town meeting, settled the mun- dane affairs of the church, agreed upon calling ministers, fixing their salaries, preserving order and decorum during worship, etc., etc. As late as the year 1738 the entry appears, " Samuel Ailing and John Crane was appointed to order the ringing of the bell and sweeping the Meeting-House * * * it was also voted that Hannah Shingleton should sweep the Meeting-House, provided she sweep it clean and for the same Wages as it was done for last year." And, still later, in 1755, we find, " Samuel Parkhurst and Samuel Morris Collectors of Mr. Burr's [the clergyman] Rate for

VIEW OX MILITARY PARK AND PARK PLACE, LOOKING NORTH FROM BROAD STREET.

that " Mr. Crane and Mr. Treatt are chosen Magistrates for the Year Insuing for our Town of Newark." The chronicler, with the taciturnity of that time, fails to tell how or why this name was chosen in preference to any other, and it remains only a conjecture that it was chosen in honor of Mr. Pierson, who had officiated or been ordained at Newark-on-Trent.

The close alliance of church and state in the new community, indeed, the actual and complete union of the two, is shown in the "fundamental agreements" to which every settler was obliged to subscribe as a condition precedent to holding his lands, and also in the town records for many years thereafter. We find this, for example, in the " fundamental agreements : " " That "it is fully and unanimously agreed upon as a Condition upon " which every one doth reckon and hold his Lands and accommo- " dations in the Town, viz : that they will from Time to Time " pay or cause to be paid yearly in their full proportions equally, " to the Maintenance & allowance agreed upon for the upholding " of the settled Ministry and preaching of the Word in our Town," etc. Also the following, in respect to new-comers: "Item, it " was ordered and agreed upon, in case of changes of Lands * * *

the year ensuing." But the strict requirement of the "funda- mental agreement " that only church members should attend and vote at town meetings did not remain so long in force. So early as March 1, 1677, we find it recorded, " It is voted as a Town Act, " that all and every Man that improves Land in the Town of " Newark, shall make their appearance at Town Meetings and " there attend to any Business as shall be proposed, as any of the " Planters do, and liable to any Fine as others are in Case of their " absence at the Call, or a whole Da}', or going away before the " Meeting break up, and also that the Clerk is to set their Names " in a List and Call them as others are called."

The first hundred years of the existence of the little town was a period of peace and prosperity. There was little or no trouble with the neighboring Indians, the sound policy of the first settlers and their honorable dealings with the red men having favorably impressed the latter and made them the friends of the white men. There were, indeed, periods of alarm when there were rumors of general uprisings of the savages, and when the prudent citizens bore their arms to the meeting-house and appointed sentries to bear watch and ward during the hours of worship, but

NEWARK, N. J., ILLUSTRATED.

13

there appears to have been no conflicts with their supposed foes.

Only once was there a real prospect of serious trouble during this period, but this was averted by the prudence and sagacity .of the leaders of the town. In 1673 the Dutch retook New Amsterdam, which they now named New Orange, in honor of Prince William of Orange. The Dutch Governor issued his proclamation commanding all the settlers within the New Nether- lands— which, of course, included New Jersey to return to their allegiance to the States-General, guaranteeing them in all their rights provided they should take the oaths and submit themselves to the old regime.

The townsmen of Newark were evidently not to be perturbed by the vicissitudes of earthly powers and dominions. They owed their first allegiance to their Heavenly Ruler, and so long as they were not disturbed in their homage and fealty to Him, it mattered little to them who His earthly deputies might be. Their concern was not politics, but religion. Accordingly, but a few days after

the attempted usurpation of Governor Andruss could extort from the people more than the briefest notice. Almost contemptuously they returned to the fiery Governor's demand that they should recognize his authority, their calm answer : ' ' The Town being " met together the 29th of March, 1679-80, and give their positive " Answer to the Governor of York's writ, (viz) : That they have " taken the Oath of Allegiance to the King and Fidelity to the " present Government, and until they have sufficient Order from " his Majesty we will stand by the same." Their thoughts were chiefly set upon the orderly regulation of their own immediate affairs, the preservation of religion and morality in their little community, and the godly up-bringing of their young ; to politi- cal affairs without they gave only the hastiest' and most impatient consideration. But the care they took in the minutest details to promote and secure goodly behavior among themselves is shown, for example, in a vote of the town passed February 25, 16S0 : " To prevent disorderly Meetings of Young People at unseason-

VIEW ON MILITARY PARK AND PARK PLACE, LOOKING EAST FROJI BROAD STREET.

the raising of the Dutch standard at New Orange, and the pub- lishing of the Dutch General's proclamation, at a town meeting held August 4* 1673, " It was agreed that we should join with the " rest of the Province to agree with the General at N. Orange, ' ' to have a priviledged County between the Two Rivers Pasaick " and Araritine, or with as many as will join with us on that " account, then to desire what may be necessary for us in our " Town."

The military occupation of New Orange by the Dutch continued until the end of October, 1674, and during this period of fifteen months the good townspeople of Newark placidly carried on their town affairs, quietly ignoring the fact that war existed between their mother country and Holland, and submitting themselves in all things necessary to the authorities at New Orange. Already the calm indifference of the settlers to the political affairs and vicissitudes of the European powers is noticeable and significant.

From the re-surrender of New Orange to the English, and the re-establishment of the authority of the Lords Proprietors, down to the period of the Revolutionary War, events were few and unexciting in the life of the little town on the Passaic. Not even

" able Times, it is voted as a Town Act, that no Housekeeper or " Master of a Family, shall harbour or entertain any Person or " Persons in the Night after Nine o'clock, or at other unseasonable " Times, (extraordinary occasions excepted) ; nor shall they suffer ' ' them disorderly to meet at any Place within their Power, to " spend their Time, Money or provisions inordinately, in drinking, ' ' gaming or such-like ; nor shall they suffer any Carriage, Con- " ference or Council which tends to corrupt one another. All " such Persons so transgressing shall be liable to such fines the " Authority shall think fit."

The Town Records from 1775 to 1783 do not show any evidence of the existence of the War of the Revolution. The town meet- ings were held regularly and the public business transacted as placidly and orderly as if the liberties of the nation were not trembling in the balance. Some effort has been made to show that the citizens of Newark suffered severely by the incursions and depredations of the British soldiery, and doubtless they failed not to experience some of the ravages of the war ; but it is no doubt equally true that they were less disturbed than the citizens of most of the other patriot towns. In the year 1774 the town

/

14

NEWARK, X. /., ILLUSTRATED.

raised ,£120 for the support of the poor ; in 1776 the amount voted was ;£no ; in 17S1, ^250 ; and in 1784, £250. The increase in the amount raised for the poor does not necessarily mean that the latter had grown so much more numerous, but may have been due to the fact of the depreciation of the currency and the rise in prices of all commodities. At all events it is pretty conclusive evidence that the community in general had not suffered so very severely from the war. And Dr. McWhorter, who is excellent authority, savs that the town "soon recovered from its damages, increased fast in its population, and quickly began to flourish, especially in its manufactories."

From the close of the War of Independence the growth of the town appears to have been steady and continuous, if not rapid and remarkable. Few incidents occurred to disturb the peaceful and happv monotony characteristic of the life of rural communities ; but from year to year this God-fearing people quietly and stead- fastlv performed their various tasks, added to their slender store

census taken three years later, was only about 6,000. Comment is needless, unless it be worth while to remark that thus early Religion seems to have acquired the habit of losing sight and speech as soon as she crosses the threshold of Politics. The majority was for Newark, but the election was subsequently set aside by the Legislature upon the clear and unmistakable proof of frauds perpetrated at the polls. Newark did not, however, lose the county seat. A distinguished and public-spirited citizen, judge Pennington, presented a site within its limits for new county buildings, and these were built and finished in the year 1S12.

The growth of the town naturally rendered the old government by town meeting inconvenient and insufficient. Agitation was begun. in 1S32 looking toward the incorporation of the town as a city, and for its more easy and efficient government. Finally, in 1836, the Legislature passed a charter for the city of Newark, which was adopted by a popular vote of the citizens at an election held for the purpose, and in the month of April, 1836, the city

VIEW ON WASHINGTON PARK AMD WASHINGTON STREET.

of wealth by industry, frugality and thrift, worshiped God and were content.

One of the most exciting events in the history of the town sub- sequent to the Revolution was the election in 1807 to decide whether the county seat should be continued in Newark or should be removed to some, other site, its principal rival being the am- bitious and jealous town of Elizabeth. An act of the Legislature was passed providing for the submission of the question to a vote of the people of the county. February 10, 1S07, was fixed for the first day of the election, which was to continue three days. Single women and widows were permitted to vote. Despite the religious character of the people of both communities, the election seems to have been characterized by every species of fraud and corrup- tion. Ballot-box stuffing, repeating and impersonation ; every description of fraud was practiced by young and old women and men. A sufficient idea of the character of the election may be gathered from one fact alone. The total vote cast in Newark was 5,039; the entire population of the town, as shown by the

government was fully organized, with William Halsey, Mayor ; Oliver S. Halsted (afterward Chancellor of New Jersey), Recorder ; Joseph N. Tuttle, Clerk ; William A. Meyer, Treasurer ; Elias H. Van Winkle, City Surveyor, and James Keene, Street Commis- sioner.

Since its incorporation the city of Newark has advanced with rapid and unceasing strides. Its population in the intervening half-century has multiplied tenfold ; its manufactures have in- creased marvelously, not only in volume but also in diversity ; its prosperity has been sound and healthy as well as vast, its periods of depression few and brief. It has achieved a position in the very first rank of the manufacturing cities of the world ; its situ- ation and facilities are unequalled ; its reputation for quiet and order and its credit are unsurpassed ; for healthfulness as a dwell- ing place, for moderation in its taxation, for educational, religious and social advantages, it is all that can reasonably be desired. Resting upon so broad, firm and unyielding a foundation, its con- tinued prosperity is assured.

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

iS

THE CITY GOVERNMENT.

THE first government of Newark was essentially religious. It was a combination of the theocracy of the Jews with the democratic town meeting of New England. All affairs of the set- tlement were conducted, all officers and magistrates chosen, by the entire body of citizens in town meeting assembled ; which was democracy, pure and simple ; but, in the " fundamental agree- ments," citizenship and suffrage were restricted to the saints : "none shall be admitted freemen * * * but such Planters as are members of some or other of the Congregational churches, nor shall any but such be chosen to Magistracy * * * * nor shall any but such Church Members have any Vote in any such election." Here was the most complete union of church and state ever established since the Mosaic dispensation, and this

and allow the unsanctified to come in and have a voice in the government.

The government of the town by town meeting continued in full force, without any change, until 1S33 when, by act of the Legislature, the town was divided into four wards, known, re- spectively, as the " North," " South," " East" and " West" wards. The town government by wards continued for three years longer, until, in 1S36, a charter was granted by the State and the town became a city. This charter was soon found to be inadequate, and supplement after supplement was obtained from the Legis- lature until their number became inconveniently large and confus- ing. Accordingly, in 1S54, the Common Council appointed three commissioners to revise and codify the charter and the supple-

VIEW ON LINCOLN PARK AND WASHINGTON STREET.

continued in its complete integrity until March 1, 1677, when it is recorded that " It is voted as a Town Act that all and every Man that improves Land in the Town of Newark shall make their appearance at Town Meetings, and there attend to any Business as shall be proposed as any of the Planters do." Again on October 2, 1683, " It is agreed by vote that all and every Person possessed of Lands in the Town of Newark shall have their Names put into the List to be called at Town Meetings, from Time to Time."

The reason for thus relaxing the stringency of the ' ' funda- mental agreements " and allowing the profane to come in and join with the saints in the direction of the temporal affairs of the town seems to have arisen from the carelessness and negligence of the saints themselves. Surprising as it may seem, it was difficult to get them to attend to their solemn duties and to exercise their high privileges. Even the imposition of fines for non-attendance at town meetings or for dilatoriness did not seem to arouse the saints to the importance of their political privileges, and finally, only eleven years after the settlement of the town and the solemn signing of the " fundamental agreements," it became necessary, to insure the proper conduct of public affairs, to open the doors

ments thereto. These commissioners submitted their draft of the revised charter to the Common Council in February, 1855. It was then considered carefully by a joint committee of the Common Council, and of the citizens, and amended by them in several im- portant particulars. After much consideration and many delays the revised charter received the sanction of the Legislature, and was approved by the executive of the State March 20, 1857.

Under the revised charter the government of the city was vested in a Mayor and a Common Council, or Board of Aldermen, consisting of two aldermen chosen by the citizens of each ward, the number of wards at the time of the adoption of the revised charter being but eleven. In addition to the Common Council, a Board of Education was provided for, which was to have entire charge and control of the public schools of the city, but subject to the Common Council in the matter of appropriations. The gov- ernment established by this charter was very simple, and was soon found insufficient for the rapidly growing needs of the city. In 1S59 a supplement was passed establishing the office of Re- ceiver of Taxes, and also providing for a Sinking Fund to meet the city's bonded indebtedness as it should fall due. In 1S60 the

i6

NEWARK, X. /., ILLUSTRATED.

city was authorized to purchase the property, rights and franchise of the Newark Aqueduct Company, and the Newark Aqueduct Board was established for the management and control of the water supply of the city. In 1S66 the Board of Assessment and Revision of Taxes was constituted for the more systematic and effective assessment of taxes. This board continues to be of the same number, duties and powers as when first established, but its members are now all appointed by the Mayor. In 1S73 the De- partment of Finance was established, the chief officer of which to be Comptroller of the city. This department remains substantially the same in scope and powers as originally constituted. A Board of Excise Commissioners was established in 1S75, and this board also remains, as to authority and jurisdiction, substantially as at first constituted.

In iSgi the most sweeping and far-reaching change in the city government was proposed by an Act of the Legislature providing for the appointment in each of the cities of the first-class (Newark and Jersey City), of a Board of Street and Water Commissioners.

This board, it is provided in the law, shall be composed of five members and is clothed with very extensive powers. It is to have entire control and management of the Water Department, the Street Department, all sewers and drains, in short, all the public works of the city. Proceedings have been begun and are still pending in the Supreme Court to test the constitutionality of the act constituting this board, and it is practically at a stand until the decision of the court shall be announced. Since the foregoing was written, the Supreme Court has decided the act constituting the Board of Street and Water Commissioners to be constitutional, and the board has assumed and exercises all the powers conferred upon it by the new law.-

The other departments of the city government are the Health Board, which, under recent legislation, has very extreme powers ; the Trustees of the City Home, a reform school for boys and girls ; the Trustees of the City Hospital, and the Trustees of the Free Public Library, a most excellent institution which is giving unqualified satisfaction.

VIEW ON CLINTON AVENUE AND HIGH STREET.

THE CHURCH HISTORY OF THE TOWN.

THE historian of Newark must needs give much attention and devote considerable space to the history of the churches of the city. So closely, as has already been shown, were the temporal and spiritual interests of the town interwoven and almost identi- fied, that the one cannot be traced and set forth without following and displaying the other. In the infancy of the town the two were twins, fond, affectionate and constant in their companion- ship. It was many years before one outstripped the other in physical growth and found his attention and his activities absorbed by his rapidly growing prosperity and possessions, and the devotion of the two loving twins became formal and strained if not altogether cold and lifeless.

The history of the church in Newark antedates that of the town by more than a score of years. It really begins in Branford, in 1644, when it had "its proper organic origin" as good Doctor

Stearns styles it. The Rev. Abraham Pierson, the first pastor of the church, came to Boston from England in 1639. He was born in Yorkshire in what year is uncertain and was graduated at the University of Cambridge in 1632. After being ordained episcopally, it is supposed and preaching a few years in his native country, he decided, for reasons now unknown, upoii emi- grating to New England and casting in his lot with the Puritans there. He joined the church at Boston, and appears to have been stationed immediately, or very soon thereafter, at Lynn. In 1640 some of the residents of Lynn, "finding themselves straitened," as the quaint language of the time puts it, determined to remove to less "straitening" habitations. They removed to the east end of Long Island, and there founded the town of South- ampton. They had been organized as a church before leaving L5mn, and had chosen Mr. Pierson as their minister, and he,

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

17

therefore, accompanied them to their new settlement. But in the year 1644 he and some of his flock, being dissatisfied because their little colony was placed in the jurisdiction of Connecticut, removed to the town of Branford. Here he organized a new church, embracing inhabitants of Branford with others from Weathersfield, who united with them, and here the church history of the church of Newark really begins ; for when, in 1667, the people of Branford resolved to join those of Milford in their " towne upon the Pasaick," they took with them their pastor and their entire church organization. Dr. Stearns, the historian of the " First Church," says : " Indeed, the old church in Branford, organized there twenty years earlier, was probably transported bodily, with all its corporate privileges and authorities. Its old

forth upon a new, and it since has proved, by far the largest por- tion of its career."

Mr. Pierson was a strong as well as godly man. His influence upon the new community was very great and largely determined its character and caVeer. He was a learned man, still fond of books and study in these wilds. His library numbered four hun- dred and forty volumes, a goodly library for the most refined centre of the New World, and of magnificent proportions for a clearing in the woods. Earnest, eloquent, godly, patient and devoted, he was beloved and esteemed not only by his own little flock, but also by all the great and strong leaders in New England. The elder Winthrop spoke of him as a "godly learned man;" and Cotton Mather, in his pedantic, but quaint and picturesque

VIEWS IN NEWARK, LOOKING NORTH, EAST, SOUTH AND WEST, PROM THE PRUDENTIAL BUILDING.

pastor was conveyed hither at the expense of the town ; its deacon continued his functions without any signs of reappoint- ment ; its records were transferred, and it immediately com- menced ' church work,' and its pastor was invested with his office and salary on the new spot without any ceremony of organization or installation. It is true that several of its members were left behind, but they no longer claimed to be a church ; and hence there was no church in Branford after the removal, till a new one was organized there several years subsequent. The settlers who came hither from other towns probably transferred their ecclesi- astical relations to this pre-existing organization, and the church of Branford, being thus transplanted to a new locality, and having received an accession of new constituent elements, became, after the example of the church in Hartford and several others in New England, the First Church of Newark, and thereupon started

style, wrote of him : " "Pis reported by Pliny, but perhaps 'tis but a Pliny ism, that there is a fish called Lucerna, whose tongue doth shine like a torch. If it be a fable, yet let the tongue of a minister be the moral of that fable. Nowr such an illuminating tongue was that of our Pierson."

The church thus transplanted from Branford to Newark was settled in the Congregational order, " and that of the most primi- tive and distinguishing type," adds good Doctor Stearns. It was not until 1716, or a few years later, that the church united with the Presbytery and became in form of government and in spirit Presbyterian.

The first steps toward building a meeting-house for the little congregation were not taken until September 10, 1668, more than two years after the settlement of the town. On that date the town voted to "build a meeting-house as soon as may be," and

NEWARK, X. J., ILLUSTRATED.

appointed a committee of five men " with full power for the man- agement of the building." The building was of very modest proportions, 36 feet in length, 26 feet in breadth and 13 feet be- tween the joints, "with a lenter to it all the length which will make it thirty-six foot square," and yet it was more than a year and a half after the town had resolved to build it that it began to approach completion. So great an undertaking for the good, pious souls was it to provide even so humble a temple for their weekly worship of their great Creator.

Twelve years after the settlement the Rev. Abraham Pierson closed his earthly career, and was succeeded by his son as pastor of the little flock. He was faithful and well-beloved, strong and influential with his people, and yet, whether from the carelessness and thoughtlessness of the good people, or for some less discredi- table reason, "no record tells us and no stone points out precisely in what spot his honored bones rest."

The Rev. Doctor Stearns has drawn a most vivid, breathing- picture of the little congregation assembled in their little house of worship, and the temptation to em- bellish these pages with it is too strong to be resisted. " Let vis now cast a glance," he says, " upon the little as- s e m b 1 y as they were when the ap- purtenances of the house of worship were completed and the settlement in the full tide of its youthful pros- perity. We will select for the pur- pose the year 16S2, and take some bright Sabbath morning early in June, when the strawberries are red among the green grass, the birds singing in the meadows in a full chorus, and the apple blossoms scarcely yet fallen in the orchards. * * * On the west side of Broad street and nearly opposite the site of the

present First Presbyterian Church, with an irregular marshy pond extending nearly to Market street on the northeast, and a few graves marking a small burying-place on a little eminence in it far in the rear, stood a low and somewhat singular-looking wooden edifice, without chimney or cupola, spreading out to the breadth of thirty-six feet square on the ground, and almost six- teen feet high in front beneath the eaves, and somewhat less in the rear ; the roof sloping down the back side near to the ground, and covering an appendage called a ' lenter,' or lean-to, ten feet wide, after the manner of some of the old farmhouses, of which remnants may still be found in the country. There it stood, with the gable ends north and south, and the broadside ' nigh front- ing on a square with the street,' in the precise spot which Mr. Pierson, the elder, Deacon Ward and Mr. Treat had assigned for it. It is OUR FIRST MEETING-HOUSE— the place of worship and the place of business the theatre of all important transac- tions, civil, military and religious, in the town of Newark, during

INTERIOR VIEW, FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, DURING CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION, 1891.

its first forty years of existence. There the townsmen, ' after lecture,' held their regular stated meetings, and there, on any alarm, the brave soldiers of the little community assembled with their arms at beat of drum to defend their homes and altars, their little ones and their wives. And now we notice two rudely con- structed appendages at two corners of the sacred edifice. They are called, in military phrase, " flankers," made with palisades or sharpened stakes, driven near together in the ground and so placed that the soldiers, sheltered behind them, command the sides of the house in every direction. They were constructed in the year 1675, when the Philips war was raging in New England, and the terror of Indian butcheries, so appalling to the people of Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Connecticut, could hardly fail to have communicated an alarm to their friends and relatives, even in this distant settlement. The house itself, as we shall see on entering it, has been fitted for defense, for at the same period the town gave orders to have it lathed and the walls ' filled with thin stone and mortar as high up as the girts ' a work on which

all the men of the town above sixteen years of age, in companies of twelve, each day wrought in their turns, carrying their arms with them as did the Is- raelites when they rebuilt their tem- ple, to be ready against sudden surprises. The house of God was thus the house of refuge for the peo- ple ; and there, had the savage foe burst upon them, would the women and children of the town have assem- bled for protection, close by God's holy altar. * * * * * * The holy morning has now dawned. Nearly opposite the church stands the residence of the late senior pas- tor, now occupied, we may presume by his aged widow with her two younger sons, Theophilus and Isaac. * * * * * All along, up and down the street, stand on either side, at regular intervals, the quiet homes of the planters, and everywhere through the open windows may be heard the voice of prayer and psalm-singing at the domestic altar or the low hum of youthful voices studying or reciting the much-prized catechism.

"The hour of public worship now approaches, and the deep tones of the village drum, beaten along the broad, grassy street by one of the young men, gives the signal to make ready. It beats again ; and now, the doors opening, out come in every direction the grave fathers and mothers of the community, the sturdy sons and comely daughters, with the cheerful and yet sober little ones, all in their best attire, and such as never sees the light except on Sabbath days and for the sake of decency in God's worship. Down the cross-streets, and some on horseback from the far-distant mountain, where the settlement was already extending itself, they pour along in pleasant family groups and meet a united community at the house of prayer."

NEWARK, N. J., ILLUSTRATED.

19

THREE VIEWS OF THE FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH.

But there was not always peace and loving brotherhood among the pious worshipers. Even as early as the pastorate of Rev. Abraham Pierson's son and successor dissensions began, which finally culminated in Mr. Pierson's withdrawal from his charge and removal to Connecticut. On the institution of Yale College, a few years later, he was appointed its first rector, or president, and held this office until his death, in 1707.

It was in the year 1676, during the pastorate of Rev. John Prudden, the younger Pierson's successor, that the separate title of the church to the "parsonage lands" was first set up, a title that has occasioned continual disputes and litigations ever since. In that year, under authority of an act of the General Assembly, a warrant was taken out for the survey of two hundred acres of land and meadow for the purposes of a parsonage, and "also so much as shall be convenient for landing places, schoolhouse, town- house, meeting-house, market-place," etc. Two hundred and twelve acres were surveyed under this warrant the same year, of which three were for a burying-place, three for a market-place and six for a training-place. December 10, 1696, a deed was made by the Proprietors conveying these tracts to John Curtis, John Treat, Theophilus Pierson and Robert Young, "to the only proper use, benefit and behalf of the old settlers of the town of Newark, their heirs and assigns for ever." This is the source of the title of the " First Church " to the lands which have been held ever since by the parent church and its off-shoots, and some of which are still in litigation.

The first separate action of town and church, as far as the records give evidence, occurred upon the calling of Mr. Jabez Wakeman to succeed Mr. Prudden as pastor of the church. The town appointed a committee of three men in 1699 "to join with such as the Church shall appoint in speedily looking out for another person to be on trial in order to settlement in the pastoral office." And, soon afterwards, the town appointed another committee " to join with the Church Committee to treat with Mr. Jabez Wakeman about his taking the office of pastor upon him."

The first separation from the old church occurred about 1718. The earlier settlements of the planters clung closely to the river

bank. But gradually the settlers pushed their clearings up the hillsides, and even as far as the slopes of the Watchung Moun- tain. Here, by the year 1718, the settlers had become numerous enough to form a church organization of their own, which they styled the " Mountain Society." This name was retained for a number of years, until the young and thriving church was named and known as the " Second Church in Newark." Eventually, on the setting-off of Orange from Newark, this latter name was also dropped and the church became known as the " First Presby- terian Church in Orange." It was about this same time also that the parent church submitted itself to the Presbyterian forms of church government, the first ordination of a pastor by act of Presbytery occurring in 1719.

The third church to be organized within the boundaries of New- ark, as they then existed, was not an off-shoot of the old First Church, but an independent organization. It was a Dutch church, established at " Second River," now Belleville, about the year 1726. The same minister "dispensed the Word and ordinances of God," both to this little church and that at " Aquackanunc."

But now approached a separation from the parent church, which was not only to rob it of many of its children, but was to cause serious and bitter dissensions, rupture old friendships, and obliterate neighborly feelings. Efforts had been making for several years to establish Episcopacy in the settlements in New Jersey. Missionaries, zealous for their church, pervaded the provinces, eager for converts. One of these the Rev. George Keith, wrote of the neighboring town of Elizabeth: " Many of that town, having been formerly a sort of Independents, are become well affected to the Church of England, and desire to have a minister cf the Church of England sent to them." And in 1 731 another missionary, the Rev. Mr. Vaughan, writing from Elizabeth to England, says that he finds his hearers increasing, not only in Elizabeth, "but also at Newark, Whippany and in the mountains." There is a delicious, unconscious humor in his additional report that he finds ' ' a general disposition in the people to be instructed and settled in the Christian Faith."

THE OLD SETTLERS' MONUMENT. ERECTED BY THE CITY OF NEWARK TO PERPETUATE THE MEMORY OF THE EARLY SETTLERS.

Fancy the grim scorn of the pious planters of Newark had they been able to read this letter with its patronizing references to their benighted condition. " Settled in the Faith! " forsooth: who so settled as they? But they were soon rudely awakened to the

2 )

NEWARK, X. /., ILLUSTRATED.

AN OLD LANDMARK AT ORANGE AND HIGH STREETS.

fact that they were not so firmly settled as they fondly dreamed. The English missionaries' efforts were to be crowned with success, but b}- causes not to be foreseen or imagined. Col. Josiah Ogden, the son of one and the grandson of another of the original settlers of the town, and a " distinguished member" of the church, was the unfortunate person through whom schism and secession came. And in a curious way. He was accused of violating the sanctity of the Lord's Day by laboring in his wheat fields. His defense was that his labor was necessary, to save his wheat from being ruined by the rain. Nevertheless the church censured him, and he and his friends withdrew from the old church and founded a separate church organization, known as Trinity Church, which submitted itself to the government of the Church of England. The exact year of this withdrawal is difficult to determine. But as Col. Ogden carried up his censure on appeal to the Synod of Philadelphia in 1734, and was in correspondence with a committee of that body in 1735, it is probable that his withdrawal and that of his friends from the old church did not occur before the Fall of the year 1735. "This separation was the origin," writes Dr. McWhorter, ' ' of the greatest animosity and alienation between friends, townsmen, Christians, neighbors and relatives, that this town ever beheld. The storm of religious separation and rage wrought tumultuously " and "kindled a flame which was not extinguished till the conclusion of the late war" fifty years later. Such is the Christian love and forbearance, at times, of the disciples of the meek and lowly Jesus, and thus were " instructed and settled in the Christian Faith " the members of the new communion.

It has already been seen that the second pastor of the little Newark church was chosen to the high and •honorable office of first rector or president of Yale College upon its institution. New and equally illus- trious scholastic honors now awaited the little church through its sixth pastor, the Rev. Aaron Burr. This brilliant preacher and scholar came to the pulpit of the Newark church in January, 1736. Ten years later, on the 22d of October, 1746, the first charter of "The College of New Jersey" was granted, the Rev. Aaron Burr being one of the persons named therein as trustee of the proposed new college. The Rev. Jonathan Dickinson, of Elizabeth, was chosen to be president of the college, but after enjoying this high honor only four months and a half he died. His death discouraged the new enterprise and caused a

suspension'ofjthe efforts to establish suitably the new institution of learning. But in September, 1748, a new charter was granted for the college, and upon its organization, which occurred in the First Church November gth, 174S, the Rev. Aaron Burr was unan- imously chosen president. The first commencement of the college, a class of seven being already qualified, was celebrated on the same day in the little house of worship thus doubly honored. Among the seven students graduated at this time was Richard Stock- ton, a name afterwards one of the most distinguished and honored in the State of New Jersey, and whose descendants to this day nobly maintain the honor and giory of the family name.

For the first eight years of its existence the College of New Jersey remained in New-ark. President Burr officiating also, for the first seven years, as pastor of the little church. It was during this period, on June 7th, 1753, that a charter was obtained for the church, incorporating it by the name of " The First Presby- terian Church in Newark," the same name borne, by the church to this day. In 1756 the college was removed from Newark to Princeton, President Burr having resigned his pastorate a year earlier, and thus the brief but brilliant connection between the little congregation and the sturdy and thriving young college was brought to a close. It was during the Rev. President Burr's residence in Newark, but after the close of his pastorate here, that his famous son, Aaron, was born, February 6th, 1756. Of his chai'acter and career it is needless here to speak. He may be dismissed with the good Dr. Stearns' scanty notice, " the heir of his father's accomplishments, but not of his virtues."

In 1S01, June 6th, a company of nine persons were constituted into a regular Baptist church, and were soon incorporated, assuming the name of the First Baptist Church of Newark. Their first meeting-house, situated on Academy street, was dedicated September 16th, 1S06.

In 1S0S, the number of Methodists in the town having reached fourteen, they determined upon building a Methodist meeting- house, and the following year their modest place of worship, called Wesley Chapel, was dedicated. This was situated upon or near the site of the present Halsey Street Methodist Church.

The first Catholic parish in the town was regularly organized in 1S24, and was styled St. John's. St. John's Church was erected

PLUME HOMESTEAD, I1ROAD AND STATE STREETS.

NEWARK, N. J., ILLUSTRATED.

MEEKER HOMESTEAD, SUPPOSED TO BE THE OLDEST LANDMARK IN .NEW JERSEY.

on the site of the present St. John's Church, but was a very small and minds of and modest edifice, being, we are told, " no largt r than a large uting charity sitting chamber." learning.

The First Congregational Church was the outgrowth and successor of what was at its institution styled " The First Free Church in Newark," which was organized May 22d, 1S34, by forty persons who left the First Presb}rterian Church for this purpose.

There are now in the city of Newark twenty (20) Presbyterian churches, of which one is especially for colored people and three for Germans ; two (2) United Presbyterian ; seven (7) Reformed (Dutch) ; two (2) Congregational ; fifteen (15) Baptist ; twelve (12) Episcopal ; one

(1) Reformed Episcopal ; Eighteen (18) Meth- odist Episcopal ; one (1) Methodist Protestant ; three (3) Lutheran ; one (1) Universalist ; two

(2) Swedenborgian ; twenty (20) Roman Cath- olic ; and four (4) Jewish Synagogues ; besides nine (9) independent- bodies, and eleven (11) missions. There being, in all, one hundred and seven (107) churches and synagogues in the city. These are almost without exception active, vigorous, healthy and flourishing bodies, stimulating the hearts

their various parishes, inculcating and distrib and disseminating secular as well as religious

THE RISE AND GROWTH OF MANUFACTURES IN NEWARK.

IT has already been stated that the settlers of Newark were not mechanics or manufacturers, but farmers. Naturally, there- fore, their first concern was the soil and the support and mainte- nance which it might be made to yield. It may very readily be comprehended that theirs was not a very fierce struggle with the rich, virgin soil, which, to yield its abundant increase needed but the asking. But what with the labor of making their clearings, building their dwellings and doing the thousand and one things incident to the pursuit of agriculture in a new country, the settlers had no time to think of other labors, much less to bestow upon them. Accordingly only such industries were thought of as actually pressed themselves upon the attention of the busy planters. Naturally, the first of these to reveal its necessity in an isolated farming community was, when the grain had been garnered in, a grist mill.

Accordingly, we find that at a Town Meeting held March 9, 1668-69, this resolution was adopted :

' ' Item. The Town saw Cause for the Incour- " agement of any amongst them that would " Build and Maintain a Good Mill, for the " supply of the Town with Good Grinding, To " offer and Tender freely the Timber Prepared "for that use, Twenty Pounds Current Pay, " and the Accommodations Formerly Granted " Belonging to the mill, viz : iS Acres of upland " and 6 of meadow, with the only Liberty and " privilege of Building a Mill on yt Brook ; " which motion was left to the Consideration " of the Town Be wixt this and the 12th of this " Mo. Current at Even, and the Meeting is " adjourned to that Time : And in Case any "desire sooner, or in the mean Time to have ' ' any further Treaty or Discourse about his or " their Undertaking of the Mill, they may " repair to Mr. Treat, Deacon Ward and " Lieutenant Swain, to prepare any Agreement " between the Town and them."

Notwithstanding this offer of the Town, which would seem to have been very liberal for that time, no one appeared to be willing to undertake the work on these terms, and we find this record of the proceedings of the town meeting on the 12th of March, 1668-69 ;

" None appearing to accept of the Town's Motion and Encourage- " ment to build and maintain the Mill, they agreed to set upon it " in a general way, and moving to Lieut. Swain about the matter, " he made some propositions to the Town, and at Length the " Town agreed with him for 20s. by the week or 6 working days, " and three Pounds over for his skill, unless he shall see Cause to " abate it, which if he shall see cause to do the Town will " take it thankfully ; for the which he engaged to improve his

BALDWIN HOMESTEAD, ONE OF NEWARK S OLD LANDMARKS

NEWARK, X. /.. TLLUSTRATED.

"Time and skill for the best advantage and carrying on to " an End the whole Work, with all that shall be implied by " him so far as belongeth to his Art and Trade of a Millwright ; " as also to give his best advice about the Dam, or leveling the "Ground, as the Town shall need him, and this to be done as "soon as conveniently he can; and the Town promiseth to " help him with Work in part of his pay as he needs it, so many " Days' Work as he works at the Mill ; common Laborers at two " shillings by the Day and Carpenters at 2S. 6d. the Day. * * * " Item. The Town agreed to send some men forth upon the Dis- " covery, to see if thev can find any suitable Stones for Millstones."

Even this agreement, it seems, was not sufficient to secure the erection of the mill, which must have been a great undertaking lor the little community. Under date of August 24, 1670, appears this record :

"The Town at length Made a full agreement with Mr. Robt. " Treat and Serg't Rich'd Harrison about the Building and Main- " tabling of a Sufficient Corn Mill, to be set upon the Little Brook " Called the Mill Brook, with suitable Necessary's, and making the " Damns, and all other Provisions Needful for and Belonging to " the sd Mill," &c., &c, &c.

Under this last agreement the great work of building the mill was at last accomplished, and the mill was in operation the fol- lowing Spring, as appears by an entry in theTown Records under date of May 23, 1671 : " Item it's agreed that the "2nd day of the week and "the 6th day of the same " week and the Next Days " if the Town Need, and the " Work Cannot be well done ' ' on those days that are ap- pointed and agreed upon " by The Town Meeting and " the Owners of the Mill to " be their Grinding days, " upon which days the Miller " is to attend his Grinding, " and the Town are to bring " their Grists, and the Miller " promiseth to do his * * ..->.- * -x- •::• as for Himself " secure the same until it Be "enclosed and under Lock " and Key."

Thus was established, upon the " Little Brook," which as long as it existed bore the name of " Mill Brook," the first manufac- turing industry of the little town, the forerunner, as will be seen, of multitudinous manufactures which were ultimately to convert the little agricultural hamlet into a great manufacturing city.

The early fame of the town, however, rested upon the quantity and quality of the cider made and sold by the good people. Only seven years after the first settlement Deputy-Governor Rudyard wrote to a friend in London, "At a place called Newark, 7 or S miles from here, is made great quantities of Cyder exceeding any we can have from New England or Rhode Island or Long Island. " The following year another correspondent wrote, ' ' They make abundance of good Cyder, especially at one town called Newark, which is esteemed at New York and other places that it is sold beyond any that comes from New England."

But the grist-mill and the cider-mill did not long suffice to satisfy the enterprise of the worthy Newarkers. In 1680, a shoemaker, Samuel Whitehead by name, had been permitted to settle in the town, " provided he will supply the Town with Shoes, tho' for the Present we known not of any Place of Land convenient." The leather he used was all bought from a distance, or tanned rudely at home, and this did not long suit the thrift and prudence of the citizens. Azariah Crane desired to establish a tanyard in the town, and succeeded in obtaining permission to do so in 169S, this

THE FIRST MALLEABLE IRON FOUNDRY BUILT IN THE UNITED STATES SETH HOYDEN, BETWEEN BRIDGE AND ORANGE STREETS, IN FROM AN ORIGINAL DRAWING BY THE INVENTOR.

subject coming, as did all others, before the town meeting, and being passed upon by the votes of all the citizens. It is recorded, under date of April 19, 169S, that " It is voted that Thomas " Hayse, Joseph Harrison, Jasper Crane and Matthew Canfield "shall view whether Azariah Crane may have Land for a Tan- " Yard, at the Front of John Plum's home Lott, out of the Com- " mon ; and in case the Men above-mentioned agree that Azariah " Crane shall have the Land he the said Azariah Crane shall " enjoy it so long as he doth follow the trade of Tanning."

Azariah got his land and his tannery was established at -once, and the trade in leather and shoes was thus early established on a firm foundation. Its growth was necessarily slow, but it was steady and sure, and ere long it become the staple industry of the town.

There were not wanting other craftsmen in the town sufficient to supply the immediate necessities of an agricultural community. Thomas Pierson and Benjamin Baldwin were weavers, John Ward was a "Turner," which no doubt included cabinet-making and joining ; many, indeed, of the original settlers joining some handi- craft to their agricultural pursuits. All the casks and barrels for the cider made in the town seem to have been made by the planters themselves, and so great was the demand for them that as early as 1669 it was necessary to prohibit their sale except

for the use of the Town." T^L )) This, by the way, was doubt- less the earliest embargo laid in any of the colonies.

Never, perhaps, were pioneers better equipped to establish a permanent and prosperous settlement than these pious founders of Newark. Not with mechan- ical appliances to make labor easy or dispense with it altogether, or with wealth to purchase the labor of others, but with those strong manly qualities which in- sure because they conquer success. Health, energy, courage, industry, patience, perseverance with these qualities failure is impossi- ble, success a certainty. It adds to the glory of these men, that although their religious feelings were deep and strong, and their religious prejudice no doubt intense, yet they either knew not or had overcome the passion for persecution. While they required every one desiring to join their colony to subscribe to their " fundamental agreements," yet they sought to punish no one for refusing. And they provided in advance that where the conduct or outspoken opinions of an}' settler should offend the community, there should be no persecution, pains or penalties, but simply that the offender should be paid a fair price for his lands and remove from the community with whom he was not and never could be in sympathy or accord. This was not, of course, absolute freedom of opinion or of religion, but for those times and circumstances, it was a great liberality, as unusual as it was enlightened. Material prosperity could scarcely fail to wait upon men possessed of the strong qualities, the conservative principles, the moderate tempers which distinguished and ennobled the pioneers of this plantation. And there is every evidence that from the beginning the settlement was prosperous. It is impossible to trace the growth of the industries of the infant town, as no record seems to have been kept of their prog- ress or increase, and no figures are available until the United States census of 1S10, from which a statement was compiled under the direction of the Secretary of the Treasury, showing the various industries of the town and their output, as follows ;

ERECTED BY

826:

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

23

TABLE OF MANUFACTURES IN ESSEX COUNTY, N. J., IN 1S10.

ARTICLES OF MANUFACTURE.

Blended and unnamed Cloths and Stuffs

Woolen Goods in families

Looms

Carding Machines

Frilling Mills

Drawing and Roving Machines

Spindles

Fur Hats

Blast and Air Furnaces

Bloomeries

Naileries

Large Screw, Steel Springs, etc

Tin Plate Works

Tallow Candles

Plating Manufactories

Soap

Leathers, unnamed

Boots, Shoes and Slippers

Flaxseed Oil

Distilleries

Breweries

Carriages

Paper Mills

Potteries

Drugs

Bookbinderies

No. of Factories.

763

26

201,836 yds. 43,000 "

Value.

$160,000.00

26,150 324 tons 609 "

31,360 lbs.

78.4S0.00 14,272.00 3,338.00 3,136.00

15,000 00

2Q,250.0O

11,529.00

15.OOO OO

3,846.00

324.775 18,800 307,310 gal.

51,970.00

4OO OOO.OO

l8,8oO.OO

17,600 *'

153,650.00 6,6oO.OO

2Q.5OO OO

7,850.00

27,750.00

30,000.00

$1 169 87I.OO

It will be seen from this table that the boot and shoe industry- was then, as it had been for many years, easily chief in the town, and justified the draftsman of the map of Newark, published in 1S06, who drew the effigy of a shoemaker in one corner of his map. According to his statement " one-third of the inhabitants are con- stantly employed " in the manufacture of boots and shoes.

The next opportunity afforded for observing the industrial growth of the town is found in the town census taken in 1826 by Isaac Nichols, assessor. He reports the number of industries and the industrial population as follows :

" Three Iron and Brass Founderies, twelve workmen; one Cotton Factory, six workmen ; three Tin and Sheet Iron Factories, nine workmen ; one Coach Spring Factory, ten workmen ; one Choco- late and Mustard Factory, eight workmen ; one Tobacco Factory, thirteen workmen ; one Looking-Glass Factory, four workmen one Soap and Candle Factory, four workmen ; one Eastern Pot- tery, three workmen ; one Rope Walk, two workmen.

" Besides these, three Distilleries, two Breweries and two Grist Mills. The number of hands employed not given.

"All those employed in trades and other branches are enume- rated as follows :

Shoemakers 685

Carriage-makers 64

Trimmers 4S

Painters 21

Smiths 77

Carpenters Sg

Chairmakers 79

Hatters 70

Curriers 61

Saddlers 57

Masons 46

Coach Lace Weavers 36

Cabinet-makers 35

Tailors 35

Jewelers 22

Blacksmiths ig

Planemakers 17

Tanners 17

Silver Platers 15

Bakers 15

Carters 12

Saddle-Tree-makers 12

House Painters and Glaziers 10

Wagon Workers 8

Trunkmakers 7

Coopers 7

Stonecutters 6

Lastmakers 6

Butchers 5

Ploughmakers 4

Pumpmakers 1

Morocco Dressers 3

Brushmakers 3

Gunsmiths 2

Watch and Clock Makers ... 2

Tallow Chandlers 1

Lockmakers 1

Printers 7

Mr. Nichols enumerated the population of the town as 8,017, and it will be seen from his table that about 1,700, or more than twenty per cent of the whole number were actively engaged in manual labor, speaking well for the industry and thrift of the community.

In 1836, the year of the incorporation of the town as a city, a census was taken by the direction of the Common Council. The rapid growth of the town in the preceding ten years was shown by the enumeration of the population at this census at 19,732, an increase of almost 150 per cent. In connection with this census, Dr. Jabez G. Goble prepared the following exhibit of the indus-

tries of the city, which, he says, "is believed to be essentially correct," and " will exhibit a general view of the business of the city, the greater portion of which consists of its own manufac- tured articles."

No.

Employed.

Boot and Shoe Manufacturers. This branch of

trade has always been very extensive

Hat Manufacturers

Carriages of every description omnibuses, railroad

ears, &c. Some of these establishments are very

large

Saddles, harness, whips, &c

Clothing business manufactured for the Southern

markets

Tanning and Currying The principal portion of

this business is done in the Swamps in Market

street

Coach-axles, springs, door-locks, brass mountings,

&c

Coach-lace, tassels, fringe, &c

Oil-silk, patent leather, malleable iron, every variety

of casting used by coachmakers, machinists,' &c.

The collection consists of more than 1,000 plain and

ornamental patterns now in use

Cabinet do

Jewelry do

Trunk and Chair do

Silverplating do

Sash and Blind do

Coal Trade. This business has been extensive the

past year

All other manufacturers, comprising many different

branches, may be fairly estimated at.

734 610

897 59°

§1,523,000 1,055,000

1,002,000 885,500

220

250,000

112

8o,000

125

225,060

145

l8o,000

IOO

225 OOO

106

90,000

IOO

TOO, OOO

I07

70 OOO

200,000

5OO.OOO

In 1S61 the value of the manufactured products of the city had swelled to the sum of over $23,000,000. The Civil War scarcely in- terrupted the industrial activity and prosperity of the city, which was kept busy during the entire period of its continuance in manufacturing for the Union armies small arms, accoutrements, saddlery, harness, clothing, &c, &c. But the close of the war witnessed a wonderful increase of prosperity, and the growth of the city's manufactures was marvelous, both in volume and variety. So vast and varied became the products of the city's teeming brains and skilled hands that the idea occurred to a few enterprising and far-sighted citizens of still further advancing the city's business and manufacturing interests by giving an ex- hibition of all its varied manufactured products. After an agita- tion lasting some time, the idea finally crystallized into action, and the " Industrial Exhibition " was opened in the old Rink build- ing, on Washington street, on August 20, 1S72. The exhibit was confined entirely to goods of Newark manufacture, and proved a complete triumph for its projectors. Six hundred and ten exhibi- tors were represented, although no premiums had been offered and no extra inducements held out to prevail upon them to exhibit their products. The exhibit was a complete surprise, not only to the city itself, but to the entire country. Visitors came from far and near, and the President of the United States himself honored the exhibition with his presence and praise. Other dignitaries fol- lowed in his train, and no less than 130,000 citizens thronged through its gates during the fifty-two days they were kept open.

In spite of financial depressions and commercial panics, the city has continued, with but slight interruption, to enlarge its industrial borders and multiply its products during the nearly a score of years since the holding of the Industrial Exhibition, which was in 1S72 its wonder and its boast.

THE FIRST LOCOMOTIVE USED IN THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY; HUILT BY SETH BOYDEN, IN 1838, FOR THE MORRIS & ESSEX RAILROAP,

THE CITY OF NEWARK TO-DAY.

AVING made an effort in the pre- ceding chapters of this work to set forth simply and briefly the ear- lier history of the cit)' of Newark from its settlement to the present time, it will be the purpose of the following pages to exhibit and illustrate the city as it is to-day its government, its public insti- tutions and charities, its schools and academies, its churches, its homes, its manufactories and work shops in short, all the varied ac- tivities, interests and enterprises which make it a great, busy and flourishing manufacturing city, the proud home and splendid embodiment of intelligence and industry.

The city is finely situated on the steel high roads between the great cities of New York and Philadelphia, and on the Passaic River. Its transportation facilities by railroad and water are un- equalled. It is less than thirty minutes from the city of New York by rail, and about an hour by water. Five railroads and trains innumerable each day, transport its passengers and its goods to and from the great metropolis, and to and from all the countries and cities of the world.

The territorial jurisdiction of the city embraces an area of 1 8 square miles. Its improved streets aggregate a length of icj4 miles, of which 53 miles are paved, and its sewers a length of gSyi miles. It has a combined area of 76 acres in parks. And it now has a supply of water which for purity, wholesomeness, sweetness and abundance, is absolutely unequalled.

As the birds-eye views of the city reproduced in this work show, the large territory embraced within the city's limits is well built upon, but not overcrowded. The salt marshes or meadows in the southeastern portion of the city, are as yet sparsely occupied by either dwellings or factories, but even here business and manufacturing enterprise is draining and reclaiming the marsh, and buildings and dwellings are multiply- ing.

The innumerable factories in the city are almost without excep- tion well and strongly built, finely ventilated and lighted, and are

excellent examples of factory and mill architecture. The dwell- ing houses evince the prosperity and thrift of the inhabitants, who as a rule are well and comfortably housed, while many of the larger dwellings, as the illustrations of the handsome homes of the city given in this work will show, are models of comfort, con- venience and beauty.

The population of the city, according to the United States cen- sus of 1890, was 181,518. But according to a census taken by the city authorities a few months later it was 193,055. It is more than probable that the latter figures are the correct ones, as the city census was taken by tax assessors familiar with every locality and with almost every inhabitant in their respective districts. At the present time it is probable that the population of the city exceeds 200,000, as the growth of the city in every direction since the United States and the city censuses were taken has been marvelously rapid. In 1S90 a grand total of 1,554 new buildings were erected within the city limits, of which 1,238 were dwellings; while in 1S91, the number of new buildings was doubtless equally large if not larger. As these new buildings are, almost without exception, occupied immediately upon their completion, these figures show a large increase in the population of the city within the last year and a half.

The future growth and prosperity of the city is assured, and will be continuous, steady and vast. New manufacturing indus- tries are constantly being attracted to the city by its magnificent facilities for production and transportation, the reasonable prices and rents asked for lands and factories, the low tax rate and the perfect police and fire protection which the city affords. And with this constant accession of new industries and enterprises, comes a vast and steady- flowing stream of workmen and their families, certain of employment, present comfort and future competence. In addition to all these, there is a large overflow every year from the city of New York of those who look for cheaper and quieter homes than the great metropolis can furnish. Moreover, the industries of the city are so diversified that no depression in any one industry can materially interfere with the general growth and prosperity of the town. Altogether, it seems safe to predict that the city of Newark will at no very distant day be the largest and most flourishing manufacturing city in the United States, if not in the world.

The city is both well and cheaply governed. The tax rate for the year 1S91 was only $1.82 upon each $100 of assessed valuation,

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

25

and this included the county as well as the city rate, assessed valuation of property within the city for taxable poses was in iSgi as follows :

Real estate S 88,729,950

Personal property 25,265,475

Making a total of $113,995,425

<m

CITY HALL.

The be so styled, the executive department of the city government, pur- is very limited in its extent and personnel. The Mayor is allowed a private secretary and one additional clerk, and, in addition, a police officer is detailed to stand guard at the executive door during office hours, and to act as Mayor's messenger. Not an imposing staff, truly, but with it the Mayor of this great city must needs be content. During the absence of the Mayor from the city the executive, duties devolve upon the President of the Common Council.

In times past the Common Council was a proud and important body. Almost all the patronage of the city was exercised by it, and the key of the city treasury was in its hands. Nearly all the city officials were elected or appointed by it. Policemen, firemen and lesser heroes were named and practically appointed by the aldermen of the various wards, and consequently, an alderman in his ward was a great and mighty man. In those days to be an alderman was to be a king. But times have changed and alder- men have changed with them. The Common Council has been shorn of almost all its patronage and power, and an alderman is no longer the great and mighty ruler that he was. Independent commissions control the police, fire, health and other departments, and the entire field of Public Works has been transferred to a new and independent board. The Common Council has now but little to do besides making the annual appropriations demanded by the various commissions.

The Common Council, as ^he Board of Aldermen is styled, is composed at present of thirty members, two aldermen being elected from each of the fifteen wards into which the city was until February, 1892, divided. At a meeting of the Common Council held February 5, 1S92, an ordinance was passed dividing the city into nine wards or districts, and providing that here- after but one alderman should be elected from each of these nine districts. The aldermen composing the present board are

which was an increase over the assessed valuations for 18S9 of $11,790,821. The credit of the city can scarcely be surpassed. The management of its finances is honest, conservative and wise ; and although public improvements are being constantly carried on, and there is never any pause in the efforts of the municipal authorities to improve, beautify and adorn the city, yet all these public works are carried on and managed in so wise and skillful a manner that the burden of paying for them is scarcely felt by the taxpayers. So excellent is the credit of the city that it has no difficulty in placing such bonds as it finds it necessary to issue, at 4 and \]/2 per cent.

The inhabitants of the city are in the main enterpris- ing, industrious, thrifty and prosperous. Considering the size of the city, such poverty as exists within its borders is almost insignificant. There is employment for all who are able and willing to work, and at fair wages, so that none, except those stricken by disaster or disease, need know the name of want. And for these unfortunate and distressed charity is liberal and abundant.

In order to give a complete view of the city in all its interests, it is deemed necessary to give a detailed account of the city government in all its various branches. This seems naturally to follow at this time before an effort is made to exhibit the great industrial, financial and other activities of the city.

The city was first incorporated by the name of " The Mayor and Common Council of the City of Newark," and this name has never been changed in all the subse- quent legislation relating to the city and its government, although many changes have been made in the powers, duties and responsibilities of these officers.

The Mayor of the city at present is Joseph E. Haynes, who has held the office for the past eight years, or for four terms of two years each. His staff, or, if it may

I

. if*;. Ht»»

#■***-' «**'

JOSEPH E. HAYNES, PRESENT MAYOR OF THE CITY OK NEWARK.

26

NEWARK, N. J., ILLUSTRATED.

ist. Lyman E. Kane,

2nd. Daniel Lynch,

3rd. Frank M. Parker,

4th. Joseph P. Henderson,

5th. Frederick Burgesser,

6th. John H. HuEGEL,

Edward F. McCormack. Frederick E. Seiler. Augustus Dusenberry. Edward Goeller. John H. Ely. William Schaefer.

iug. The permanency of the force, thus assured, permits the attainment of perfect discipline and efficiency, and the police department of the citv of Newark as it exists to-daj', is in these respects equalled by very few, if excelled by any. The police force numbered in 1S91, 261 officers and men, officered by a superintendent, a chief, four captains, and the necessary subordi-

YIEYV OF THE CITY HOME

7th. John F. Maiian,

8th. Elias G. Heller,

gth. Alexander H.Johnson,

10th. George H. Larue,

nth. John A. Firman,

12th. William Harrigan,

13th. Peter Ulrich,

14th. William Stainsby,

15th. Dennis F. Olvaney,

James Fitzsimmons. Watson Ryno. James A. Arnold. Terence Smith. John Hausman. Frederick D. Roerich. Ferdinand Freiensehner. Frederick F. Bioren. William Wangner.

The most powerful of these commissions is the newly-created " Board of Street and Water Commissioners," appointed by the Mayor, under authority of an act of the Legislature passed in 1891. The first members of this board, appointed by the Mayor in the spring of 1891, were James Smith, Jr., Dr. Hugh C. Hendry, Thomas Harlan, Reuben Trier and Ferdinand A. Hahn. The board was organized by the election of James Smith, Jr., to be its president, and Enos Runyon its clerk ; Charles Marsh, superin- tendent of works, and Edward L. Price, counsel. The powers of this new board are very sweeping. It is " to lay out, open, grade, alter, vacate or change the lines of streets," &c; "to pave, re-pave, repair, improve or clean streets," &c; "to make any street, highway or sewer constructions," &c. ; "to control and regulate the use and occupation of the streets, &c; remove by contract ashes, &-c; control, operate, &c, the public water supply, and collect water rents and charges ; control, &c, public parks and places, public docks," &c. , &c.

The Police Commissioners are appointed by the Mayor and form a non-partisan body, two of their number being chosen from each of the great political parties. The present Police Commis- sioners are John W. Strahan, Edward Maher, Henry Dilly and Osceola Currier. The Secretary of the Board is Joseph M. Cox. This board has the control and management of the Police Depart- ment, but can only remove a police official for cause, after hear-

SAMUEL H. P1CMBERTON, CITY CLERK.

NEWARK, N. J., ILLUSTRATED.

27

nate officers. For police purposes the city is divided into four precincts, the first being under the command of Capt. Michael Corbitt ; the second under the command of Capt. Andrew J. McManus ; the third under the command of Capt. William P. Daly ; and the fourth under the com- mand of Capt. Charles Glori. The Superintendent of Police, an office created by the Legislature of 1S91, is William H. Brown, and the Chief of Police is Henry Hopper.

The Board of Fire Commissioners is also appointed by the Mayor, and is likewise a non-partisan bod}-. The present Fire Commissioners are Edward Schickhaus, Marcus L. De Voursney, Henry R. Baker and Hugh Kinnard. The Superintendent of the Fire Department is William C. Astley, and the Chief of the Fire Department is Robert Kiersted. The department possesses eleven steam fire engines, three hook and ladder companies, and one chemical engine. It has an elaborate and complete fire- alarm telegraph system, and fire- alarm signal boxes, so that a fire in any part of the city may be reached by the fire engines at once. In addition to the engines maintained by the Fire Department of the city, the Board of Fire Underwriters maintain a Salvage Corps, whose duties are sufficiently indicated by its name. The city is thus amply and efficiently protected from fire.

The Board of Assessment and Revision of Taxes is also appointed -*■ JUDson clakk,

by the Mayor. Its duties are to make all assessments of all prop- erty within the city for taxable purposes, to keep proper records thereof, to revise the same whenever necessary, and to hear and determine all appeals from citizens in matters of taxation. The present members of this board are Philip Lowy, Henry G. Darcy, Marcus S. Richards, Paul W. Roder and Owen F. Conlon. The Secretary of the Board is John J. Berry.

The Commissioners of the Sinking Fund are Robert F. Ballantine, Frederick Frelinghuysen, Frederick H. Teese, and the Mayor and Comptroller ex- officio. The Sinking Fund is intended to meet the various issues of city bonds as they respect- ively fall due, and these Commissioners have charge of the investment of the funds intrusted to their charge until such times as they are needed for the purpose of meeting and retiring bonds.

The Board of Excise Commissioners have charge of the grant- ing of licenses for the sale of spirituous and malt liquors and wines within the city limits. They are at present, Herman Schalk, Abraham Jenkinson and Peter Grace.

The Health Department is possessed, under recent legislation, of very ample powers for the care and protection of the public health of the city. The present members of the Board of Health are Tyler Parmly, Dr. H. C. H. Herold, Dr. Charles M. Zeh, Alexander H. Johnson, Moses Strauss, William B. Guild, S. S. Sargeant, Edward Dunn and Dr. F. B. Mandeville. The Health Officer is Dr. Charles Lehlbach, Jr.

The Trustees of the City Home are the Mayor, ex-officio, Augustus Dusenberry, Dr. John B. Richmond, Dennis F. Olvaney, Elvin W. Crane, Dr. Edward J. Ill and George W. Vernet. The City Home is a reformatory institution for wayward and truant children, and its discipline is intended to lead them back and accustom them to walk in ways of usefulness and sobriety.

SR. AND A. JUDSON CLARK, JR., TAX RECEIVER AND CHIEF CLERK.

The Directors of the City Hospital are Cortlandt Parker, Henry Lang, David H. Barnet, Philip W. Cross, George A. Halsey, John Hogan, J. Ward Woodruff, Dr. P. V. P. Hewlett George R. Kent, and the Mayor, the President of Common Council and Chairman of Finance Committee, ex-officio. They control and direct the hospital maintained by the city for its suffering poor, and also maintain at the hospital a training school for nurses.

The Free Public Library of the city is managed by a board of trustees which is at present composed of Frederick H. Teese, L. Spencer Goble, James Peabody, Edward H. Duryee and Samuel J. Macdonald, besides the Mayor and the Superintendent of Public Schools, ex-officio. The Free Library is splendidly housed and elegantly equipped. It contains a library of almost 30,000 books, besides a reading-room furnished with one of the most complete lists of newspapers and periodicals, domestic and foreign, in this country. Delivery stations (since abandoned) have been establish- ed by the Trustees in the various outlying districts of the city, so that the library is practically brought home to all. The Librarian at present is Frank P. Hill, a trained and experienced librarian.

The various other officers of the city, and heads of departments, are as follows : City Counsel, Joseph Coult ; City Attorney, Frank C. Willcox ; Comptroller, James F. Connelly ; Treasurer George W. Howell ; Auditor of Accounts, Fernando C. Runyon ; Clerk, Samuel H. Pemberton ; Receiver of Taxes, A. Judson Clark ; Surveyor, Ernest Adam. These officers perform the duties which the titles of their various offices indicate.

The city also maintains two District Courts, so called, which are for the hearing and determination of small causes and actions between landlords and tenants. The Judge of the First District Court is Hon. John G. Trusdell, and the Judge of the Second

28

NEWARK, X. /., ILLUSTRATED.

JOHN Hl'NKEl.E, STREET COMMISSIONER, i8qi.

District Court is Hon. Thomas S. Henry. The Board of Educa- tion, which has the control and management of the schools of the city, will be noticed in the chapter relating to schools, and the financial institutions, manufactories, etc., of the city in various appropriate chapters.

The city of Newark is the county seat of Essex county, New Jersey, a large and populous county. This brings within the city the several county officials, some of whom, indeed, are better known than some of the city officials. The principal county

PHILIP LOWV, PRESIDENT BOARD OF ASSESSMENT AND REVISION' OF TAXES.

officials are: David A. Depue, Justice of the New Jersey Supreme Court and Judge of the Essex County Circuit Court ; Andrew Kirkpatrick, Judge of the Essex County Common Pleas Court, Orphans' Court, Special Sessions, Quarter Sessions and Oyer and Terminer Courts ; Michael J. Ledwith and Dr. Charles M. Buttner, Associate Judges of the. last named courts ; Jacob Haussling, Sheriff, and George M. Titus, Under Sheriff ; County Clerk, Samuel A. Smith ; Surrogate, John B. Dusenberry ; Register of Deeds, Richard E. Cogan ; Prosecutor of the Pleas,

HERMAN SCHALK, PRESIDENT EXCISE COMMISSIONERS.

JOHN S. BELL, EX-CHIEF U. S. SECRET SERVICE.

NEWARK, N. J., ILLUSTRATED.

29

JOHN F. YOUNG, ALDERMAN, 10TH WARD.

or District Attorney, Elvin W. Crane ; Collector and Treasurer, Thomas J. Regan ; Auditor, Hugo Geissele.

Newark is also a port of entry of the United States, having been so created in the year 1S34. The United States Government, therefore, maintains a Custom-house here, in addition to its Internal Revenue Collector's department, Post-Office, etc. The Collector of the Port of Newark is Eli H. Reynolds, his deputy, William J. Martin, The Cojfector of Internal Revenue for the district in which Newark is included, is George H. Large ; Deputy Collector, Samuel V. S. Brucn. All these gentlemen

FREDERICK BURGESSER, ALDERMAN", 5TH WARD.

have their offices in the Post-Office building. The Postmaster of Newark is Edward L. Conklin ; Assistant Postmaster, William P. Utter.

BRIDGES OVER THE PASSAIC.

Nine bridges span the Passaic River at Newark, and a tenth is projected and will no doubt be erected within a short time. Three of these bridges are for the accommodation of vehicles and foot passengers ; the other six are viaducts owned and used by the various railroads which enter the city. Two of the railroad viaducts furnish accommodation also for foot passengers, so that

GEORGE H. LARUE, ALDERMAN,

ELIAS G. HELLER, ALDERMAN, 8TH WARD.

NEWARK, N. J., ILLUSTRATED.

JAMES CHRISTIE, ALDERMAN, 5TH WARD.

pedestrians may avail themselves of the conveniences of five bridges when desirous of crossing to the other bank of the Passaic. Of the three bridges open to public travel, two are owned and maintained by the counties of Essex and Hudson jointly, and are free bridges ; the third is owned by the Newark Plank Road Company, which still exacts toll from those who cross it. The Pennsylvania Railroad Company owns two of the railroad viaducts those at Market street and at Centre street respectively and the Central Railroad Company, the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad Company, the Erie Railway

CEORGE HEINKEL, ALDERMAN'. 12TH WARD.

Company and the New York and Greenwood Lake Railway own one each.

The first of these bridges to be constructed was the one crossing- from the foot of Bridge street to the town of Harrison, now known as the " Newark free bridge." It was formerly the property of a. turnpike company operating a turnpike from Newark to Jersey City, and could be crossed only upon the payment of toll. In 1S72 it was purchased by the counties of Essex and Hudson, under authority of an act of the Legislature, for the sum of $70,000, each county paying one-half of this amount. A few

ANDREW RADEL, ALDERMAN, IlTH WARD

BENEDICT ULRICH, ALDERMAN, nTII WARD.

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

3i

HENRY G. NADLER, ALDERMAN, 4TH WARD.

years later, in 1S80, it was replaced by a handsome iron bridge, erected by the two counties jointly at a cost of $125,000.

The " Plank road " bridge, as it is commonly called, crosses the liver at the foot of Ferry street. It is still the property of the Newark Plank Road Company, and toll is exacted by that com- pany of those who cross it. It is .used very largely by teamsters passing between Newark- and New York, and it is only a question of a very short time when it must be purchased by the two counties of Essex and Hudson, replaced by a substantial iron structure, and made free. It is not now a credit to the city,

JOSEPH P. HENDERSON, ALTERKAN, 4TH WARD.

although it is undoubtedly highly profitable to the company owning it.

The second free bridge crosses the river at the foot of Clay street, connecting Newark with the township of Kearny. It was built by the two counties of Essex and Hudson at an expense of $75,000, and is a very substantial and commodious iron bridge, resting upon stone piers and abutments. An electric street railway will soon cross this bridge connecting Newark through Kearny with Arlington. As there are several very large mills in Kearny this bridge is of the very highest convenience, both to

WATSON RYNO, ALDERMAN 8TH,_WARD.

JOHN MUEGEI., ALDERMAN, 61 H WARD.

32

NEWARK, X. /., ILLUSTRATED.

MOSES STRAUSS, MEMBER OF HEALTH HOARD.

MARTIN liROSS, MARKET CLERK.

the manufacturers' heavy teams, and also to the operatives, many of whom reside, and almost all of whom do their shopping, in Newark.

Another free bridge is projected, to cross the river at a point lower down, and connect the lower part of the city with the town of Harrison. This would open up the development of both sides of the river, especially the Harrison side, and would save teams and passengers coming from the east of the Pennsylvania Rail- road a long round-about journey to the free bridges at Bridge or Clay streets.

It is a question of but a few years when the Passaic river will be spanned by free bridges, connecting every part of the city

along its right bank with the bank opposite. And this will undoubtedly effect in a short time the annexation of the towns of Harrison and Kearny, to Newark. An agitation looking toward this end has been on foot for a considerable time among the citizens of Harrison and Kearny, and committees have been appointed to secure the necessary legislation, and it is without doubt safe to prophesy that before many years have elapsed, the city of Newark will spread out on both banks of the Passaic, a great manufacturing city, of magnificent proportions and popula- tion, embracing a territorial area, exceeded by that of very few of the great cities of the world.

DR. PHILIP ROTH, DISTRICT PHYSICIAN.

WILLIAM CORBITT, SUPERINTENDENT OF CITY DOCK.

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

33

DR. C. M. ZEH.

EDWARD DUNN.

THE BOARD OK HEALTH.

PROBABLY no department of the city government is better discretion. Its chief function being the maintenance of the pub- equipped for the performance of its important duties than lie health, it is little wonder that the law-making powers clothed the Health Board, and perhaps none, where the ample powers this board with authority akin to extraordinary, for often in the conferred by the State Legislature are exercised, with greater work of seeking out the lurking places of filth, purposely concealed

EX-JUDGE PAUL W. RODER.

DR. WII.UAM TITUS

NEWARK. X. /., ILLUSTRATED.

JOHN A. FUKMAN, ALDERMAN uTIl WARD.

PETER ULRICH, ALDERMAN 13TH WARD.

by the ignorant or such as are viciously inclined, the strong hand of the law must needs be called in as an efficient helper. It needs no other evidence to satisfy the most inquisitive of the general healthfulness of the city of Newark than data furnished by the Health Board. The low death rate, the very great freedom of the city from epidemics, or endemics, shows very plainly the fact of the faithful performance of duties by the Board itself, and the efficiency of its officers, agents and inspectors, to whom is entrusted the work in detail.

The abundant supply of pure mountain spring water flowing through the streets and into the domiciles of the citizens is doing much to aid the Health Board in the great work of making New- ark the cleanliest and healthiest city in the country. It has many other advantages which are wonderful helpmates to cleanliness

and consequent healthfulness. Among these location is all im- portant. Just far enough from the sea to have the air sufficiently charged with salt as to make it wholesome, and close to the Pas- saic River and Newark Bay, great natural channels which serve as main outlets for the hundreds of sewers forming a perfect net-work under the streets of the city and carrying all the sewerage matter away to sea. Then the rolling nature of the ground upon which the city is built foot-hills indeed of the Orange Mountains which skirt its western boundary giving to a large proportion of its people not only a beautiful mountain scenery upon which the eye can dwell with satisfaction, but to their building plots as the hills recede to the river and sea, a drainage by nature unsurpassed by any city in the country.

WILLIAM WANGNER, ALDERMAN 15TH WARD.

JOHN H. ELY, ALDERMAN 5TH WAR1

THE POLICE DEPARTMENT.

citizens of Newark are modestly proud of the discipline and efficiency of the Police Department of the city. In these respects it falls little, if any, short of those which are acknowledged to be foremost. Taking into consideration the limited means at the disposal of the Board of Police Commissioners, the high standard of excellency attained by the department, and the well-nigh perfection of the equipments and appliances, speak volumes in praise of the ability and integrity of the Commissioners and the skill and fidelity of the officers and men of the department. The conservatism and economy of the Common Council of the city, which makes the appropriations for this as well as almost all the departments of the city government, the charter limitation of the municipal expenditures, and the persistent and politic desire of the appropriating power to keep the annual tax rate in the city as low as possible all these causes operate to keep the appropriations for- police purposes within the narrowest possible limits. Consequent!)- the growth of the police force in point of size has not kept pace with the rapid growth of the city in population and area. The intelligent citizen who deems it his duty to inform himself upon municipal affairs, cannot fail but be convinced that our police force is insufficient in numbers for so large a city. He can only hope that in the very near future this deficiency shall be supplied, and in the meantime congratu- late himself and the city upon the hearty, enthusiastic and

efficient services rendered by these gallant guardians of the public safety.

Under the charter of the city, the Common Council was given the right "to establish, organize and control a day and night police, and to regulate and define the manner of their appoint- ment and removal, their duties and their compensation." This power the Common Council employed to establish the Police Department and, mainly through its Police Committee, to regu- late it. Appointments to the force being in the hands of the Aldermen and the Police Committee, and there being no restric- tions upon the power of the Common Council to remove from the force for political or other reasons, it came about naturally that appointments were often the rewards of party service, and removals the penalty of adhering to the vanquished part)-. This condition finally became notorious and the Police Department suffered not alone in discipline and efficiency, but also in the lack of respect entertained for it by the community at large. At length those interested in the welfare and progress of the city sought to devise a remedy for these evils, and the result of their efforts was the passage, in the year eighteen hundred and eighty- five, by the Legislature of the State, of an act entitled " An Act to remove the fire and police departments in the cities of this State from political control."

This act provided that, in each of the cities in the State which should elect to adopt its provisions, a Board of Police Commis- sioners should be nominated by the Mayor and confirmed by the Common Council. This Board was to consist of four members,

GROUP OF THE FIRST PRECINCT POLICE SQUAD.

3<>

NEWARK, N. J., ILLUSTRATED

JOHN W. STRAHAN, PRESIDENT POLICE COMMISSIONERS

OSCEOLA CURRIER, POLICE COMMISSIONER.

" two of whom shall be selected from each of the two political parties, which shall have cast or polled the greatest number of votes at the last preceding municipal election." This of course, meant that, at least at the time of the first appointment of the Commissioners, two" Democrats and two Republicans should be

appointed. This Board was directed to make detailed reports to the Common Council monthly, and the Common Council was given power to expel any member of the Board " on good cause shown, and after a trial of such Commissioner before such Common Council "

HENRY DILLY, POLICE COMMISSIONER.

EDWARD MAIIER, POLICE COMMISSIONER.

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

37

WILLIAM H. BROWN, SUPERINTENDENT OF POLICE.

HENRY HOPPER, CHIEF OF POLICE.

Subject to such supervision the Board was given the entire control of the Police Department, and the power of appointment thereto and removal therefrom. Removals, however, were only to be made for good cause and after trial, and never for political reasons. This act was adopted in Newark by an almost unani- mous popular vote.

The result of this wise legislation has been the almost, if not entirely, complete emancipation of the Police Department of the city from the shackles of partisanship, and a gradual and steady improvement in the discipline and efficiency of the force. Officers and men now realize that their term of office does not depend upon the favor or displeasure of some petty ward " boss," or upon the strength and reach of their political

"pull," but solely upon their capabilities and their fidelity to duty. They are therefore, upon their good behavior. They have the time and the confidence in the permanency of the terms of their offices to study the responsibilities and duties of their respective positions, and to consider how the efficiency and the discipline of the department may be elevated and improved. It is safe to say that no thoughtful citizen, however strong a partisan politically, would now have the old methods of control of the Police Department reinstated.

The State Legislature of 1891 passed an act providing for the appointments of Superintendents of the Police Departments in cities of the first class in the State, meaning Jersey City and Newark. The act provided for the appointment of such

GROUP OF THE SECOND PRECINCT POLICE SQUAD.

33

NEWARK, N. J., ILLUSTRATED.

FIRST CRIMINAL COURT JUDGE HOWARD VV. HAVES.

POLICE SURGEON J. H. CLARK.

Superintendent by the Mayor of the city, and that when have charge and command of the Police Department respectively

appointed he should hold office during good behavior, and be of such city, above and superior to all the other officers thereof,

removable "only for cause after trial.'' Such Superintendents, Under the authority of this act, the Mayor appointed ex-Sh eriff

under the direction of the Police Boards of such cities, were to William H. Brown, the genial and popular president of ths Joel

GROUP OF THE THIRD PRECINCT POLICE SQUAD.

NEWARK, N. J., ILLUSTRATED.

39

CAPTAIN MICHAEL CORBITT.

CAPTAIN ANDREW J. M'MANUS.

Parker Association, Superintendent for the Police Department. This gentleman was widely and well known throughout the city, of excellent standing and reputation, and consequently the Superintendent was well received by the citizens at large.

According to the annual report of the Board of Police Commis- sioners to the Common Council for the year iSgi, bearing date January I, 1S92, the number of men constituting the police force at that date was two hundred and forty-eight, and all other officers and employees of the department fifteen, making the total strength of the department, including the Board of Commis- sioners, two hundred and sixty-three. Not a very imposing or extravagant array surely, for a city containing a population of two hundred thousand.

Of this number ninety-five are made up of Commissioners, officers, detectives, employees, "ehancemen" and detailed men, leaving the number of patrolmen only one hundred and sixty- eight. This is manifestly an insufficient number of men to properly patrol and guard the city. A city of the large area and great population of Xewark should properly have twice that number.

The members of the Board of Police Commissioners for the year 1892, are John W. Strahan, Henry Dilly, Edward Maher, and Osceola furrier. The President of the Board is Commis- sioner Strahan and the Secretary Joseph M Cox.

Connected with the Police Department are three Police Courts, now known, by authority, of an act passed by the Legislature of

CAPTAIN WILLIAM P. DALY.

CAPTAIN CHARLES GLORI.

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

BENJAMIN H. VAX NESS, POLICE JUSTICE, 1890.

JOHN A. ROIIRIGO, POLICE JUSTICE, iSgo.

1S92. as the First, Second and Third Criminal Courts. Howard Preisel of the Third. The clerks of these Courts are John J. W. Hayes, a counsellor at law, is Judge of the First Criminal Bertram, William Lomax, Jr., and John P. Fannan, of the First, Court, Redmond P. Conlon of the Second, and Frederick C. Second and Third, respectively.

'

f

If ' "\- ft ¥ ^

"til

ifi%pi

"■, [ « «

ii i

■' .i l » r I

f r ifpiL -^

VIEW OX r.KOAI) STREET LOOKING SOUTH FROM MARKET STREE

THE FIRE DEPARTMENT.

HENRY R. BAKER, PRESIDENT.

EDWARD SCHICKHAUS.

«-<j> THE BOARD OE FIRE COMMISSIONERS. ^,<f"~

HUGH KINNARD.

WM. II. VAN HOUTEN.

42

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

WILLIAM C. ASTLEY, SUPERINTENDENT FIRE DEPARTMENT.

THE FIRE DEPARTMENT.

EVERY citizen is justly proud of the Fire Department of the city. In respect to discipline, efficiency, promptitude, ardor and fidelity, it is not surpassed by any fire department in any city. It is sufficient evidence of the competence and efficiency of the city's fire department to adduce the fact that for many years the city has not suffered from any large or extensive fire, although there have been many fires which would unquestionably have developed into vast conflagrations had they not been promptly and skillfully combatted and checked. An alarm of fire being given, firemen and engines are at the spot almost with the suddenness of a fairy tale, not only to check and extinguish the fire, but also to protect and save surrounding property.

The report of the Superintendent of the Fh-e Department, Mr. William C. Astley, bearing date January i, 1892, shows that at that date the total manual force of the department was one hundred and thirty-eight men. The apparatus in use by the department

ROBERT KIERSTEAD, CHIEF FIRE DEPARTMENT.

consisted of nine second-class steam fire engines, three third-class steam fire engines, twelve four-wheeled hose wagons, tenders to steamers, three four-wheeled hose carriages, tenders to steamers, one aerial hook and ladder truck, two trestle, side hook and ladder trucks, three chemical engines, seventeen wagons for use of officers and for exercise of horses and one two-wheeled gig. The department also has reserve apparatus as follows : Two second- class steam fire engines, four four-wheeled hose carriages and one trestle-side hook and ladder truck.

LOUIS M. PRICE, DISTRICT ENGINEER.

ISAAC W. TOWNSEND, BUILDING INSPECTOR, lEci.

NEWARK, N. J., ILLUSTRATED.

ADAM BOSCH, SUPT. FIRE ALARM TELEGRAPH.

MARCUS L. DEVOURSSEY, EX-COMMISSIONER FIRE DEPARTMENT.

The cost of maintaining the Fire Department during the year 1S91 was $175,171.88, certainly not an extravagant sum for a city as large as Newark.

The members of the Board of Commissioners of the Fire Department are Henry R.SBaker, President, Edward Schickhaus, Hugh Kinnard and James H. "Van Houten. The Secretary of the Board is Horace H. Brown.

The Salvage Corps is independ- ent of the Fire Department, but may properly be mentioned here as part of the fire-fighting force of the city. It was organized twelve years ago by the Under- writers' Protective Association, to protect and save from fire and water, as far as possible, property and goods which might otherwise be entirely or partly ruined.

The citizens of Newark can feel that the money they expend in the maintenance of their Fire Department is not wasted or thrown away. They get their money's worth every day. There are fires, indeed, still occurr- ing, but they are fought and ex- tinguished so promptly that the consequent damage is simply trifling where, but for the skill and efficiency of the firemen, it would certainly be enormous.

Too much can scarcely be said •of the dangers often undergone in the discharge of their duties by firemen. Their devotion to duty in .emergencies is never measured by the size of their pay but only

by the necessity of the case. Not until some fireman loses his life in the discharge of his duty, does the careless public awaken to a sense of the dangers of their calling and the heroism the)' display. But every day without blare of trumpet or blazon of fame, equally heroic deeds are done by these brave and fearless men.

...jjwpttS

JHSV*:*

k. ^'*gm

-j; ||_J

1 ;

i K

A 1 11

^r

H3iiMt

"""iIhEUM

E"3

mm jBP^ \M

. , - -tJ

jgk3

l>j|

]

4S jjH m

' 1

1 ,

Ijfl Vi

fimJclll

:>^

*,^%

\

~~

ENGINE COMPANY NO. 5, PROSPECT STREET.

COUNTY INSTITUTIONS AND OFFICES.

LTHOUGH the pride of the ordinary Newarker cannot point admiringly or with exultant finger at the ancient pile known as the Essex County Court House and its Hall of Records close bv,

he can boast with- out fear of

gainsayi ng the

fact that as pure

and well learned a judiciary hold courts in the one, and as wide awake and far-seeing a recording corps keep the records in the other, as can be found in any shire town in the State or Nation. In the Court house are the business offices of the several county officials, as well as the Circuit Court, and various County Court and Grand Jury Rooms. The Supreme Court Judge presiding in this Judicial District is the Hon.

David A. Depue, who holds court in the south room, and has done so for the past score of years and upwards, and so well is he liked personally, and so eminently distinguished, and so evidently just and fair are his decisions, that he is very likely to remain upon the bench as long as his faculties hold and life lasts.

THE COURT HOUSE.

In the north room sits Judge Andrew Kirkpatrick amid his associates, Judges Michael J. Ledwith and Carl F. Buttner, the one sttting upon the-right and the other upon the left, and often helping the Judge to unravel some very knotty skeins of criminal

or business justice.

On entering the building the visitor is ushered into the offices of the popular County Surrogate, John B.- Dusen- herry, whose father, the late lamented Henry T. Dusen- berry, was at one time County Clerk of Essex county. His assistants are Charles D. Hennion, C. Harry Guild, John J. Berry, Jr., and Miss Helen W. Van Ness.

On the opposite side of the corridor are the offices of the High Sheriff, Mr. Jacob Haussling, who is one of the most deservedly popular and efficient sheriffs with which Essex county has been so liberally blessed in the past. His Under Sheriff, George M. Titus, was a rising young lawyer, who was fast winning laurels in his profession, but forsook them for the time being in order to help his friend Haussling adminis- ter the affairs of his high office. Sheriff Haussling has been peculiarly successful in the selection of his constabulary assistants.

JACOB HAUSSLING, SHERIFF.

ELVIN W. CRANE, PUBLIC PROSECUTOR.

NEWARK. N. J., ILLUSTRATED.

45

SAMUEL A. SMITH, COUNTY CLERK.

JOHN E. DUSENDERRY, SURROGATE

On the same floor to the rear is found the office of the Clerk of the County, Samuel A. Smith. One of Mr. Smith's predecessors in this office was his father, Dr. William A. Smith, who has lately departed this life full of honor and years.

On the same floor, in the southeast corner, are found the offices

of the County Auditor, Hugo J Geissele, and County Collector Thomas J. Regan, polite and painstaking gentlemen with whom it is a pleasure to transact business. They are assisted in the performance of their duties by Mr. Harry Housel, who has filled his position acceptably for several years.

RICHARD E. COGAN, REGISTER.

HUGO J. GEISSELE, COUNTY AUDITOR.

46

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

GEORGE M. TITUS, UNDER SHERIFF.

On the same floor are also found the offices of the County Prosecutor, Elvin W. Crane, and his assistant, Louis Hood Next to and opening out of the Prosecutor's office is the Grand Jury room, where during each of the three stated terms of court held every year, twenty-three good men and true are gathered to

EDWIN \V. IIINE, EX-SHERIFF.

hear complaints, investigate the acts of wrongdoers, and find bills of indictment against criminals and others. Timothy E. Scales is the popular and painstaking Clerk of the Grand Jury.

The visitor is next ushered into the Hall of Records. On ascending the first short flight of stairs he finds double doors opening into the Hall of Records, where Richard E. Cogan pre- sides over the great volumes containing the public records of the county. Here goes on in a silence almost painful the work of recording the records as well as the recording of deeds, mortgages and other paper records of titles.

CORNELIUS LEARV, FREEHOLDER AND PRES'T ESSEX COUNTY ROAD BOARD-

SOLOMON DE JONGF., FREEHOLDER.

NEWARK, N. J., ILLUSTRATED.

47

OWEN A. CAHILL, FREEHOLDER.

Ascending to the third story the hall is reached where the Board of Chosen Freeholders hold their monthly conclave and legislate for the county. The Board formerly consisted of forty members but a recent law reduced the number to ten. Dr. Tiesler. of Orange, is Director, Joseph Atkinson is Clerk, and Fred. W. Stevens is Counsel of the Board. The Board is at present com- posed of the following members: Patrick Lupton, J. J. Berry, Ellis R. Carhuff, Solomon Dejonge, John Scanlan, Thomas W. Kinsey, Owen A. Cahill, Cornelius Leary, Charles Winckler, James Peck.

PETER M. MULLIX, FREEHOLDER, (DECEASED.)

The Freeholders are selected from the several Assembly districts in the county, the same as members of the State Legis- lature, and conduct the general business of the county, which _is principally carried out by committees who report through the Chairman at the Board meeting, held once a month.

DR. THOMAS DUNN ENGLISH, REPRESENTATIVE IN CONGRESS.

GEORGE H. LARGE, INTERNAL REVENUE COLLECTOR.

48

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

ESSEX COUNTY ASYLUM FOR THE INSANE, SOUTH ORANGE AVENUE.

The public institutions are the County Penitentiary at Cald- well, the County Jail in Newark, and County Retreat or Insane Asylum on South Orange avenue. The Penitentiary is under the care of Warden John Murray, who is held responsible for the administration of the prison affairs. The committee having the care of this institution visit it twice every month. The County Jail is under the care of Jail Warden McMonagle. who takes his orders from the Prison Supply Committee, who meet twice a month at the Jail and Penitentiary.

The Insane Asylum is under the care of the Committee on Lunacy of the Board of Freeholders. The Physician and Super- intendent is Dr. Livingston S. Hinckley. There are nearly five hundred patients in this institution.

A visitor to one and all of these county resorts of the sick and unfortunate is at once struck with the high degree of neatness and order seen everywhere, and the deep interest taken in the welfare of patients or prisoners is abundantly manifest to the most casual observer.

But not until the Egytian pile at the head of Market street has gone the way of all things which have had their day, and a new Court House has been built, worthy in all respects of the great and growing county of Essex, will the smile of satisfaction light up the faces of a progressive people who have been striving for years to induce the Board of Freeholders to wake from their lethargy and build a new Court House.

The Essex County Insane Asylum,

DURING the year of 1871 there was only one State Asylum for the Insane, that of Trenton. The county of Essex maintained there no patients. The report was received by the Board of Freeholders to the effect that the Asylum there was so crowded that but few, if any more, patients could be received. The State Asylum at Morris Plains though nearly completed, was far from that point at which they could receive patients, so the question of obtaining an entrance to asylums in other States was discussed, and overtures were made to the authorities at Ward's Island, Blackwell's Island, New York, and as far awa}' as the State Asylum at Vermont, without success. The Committee on Lunacy of the Board of Freeholders at that time were David J. Can field, Wm. M. Freeman, Wm. Gorman, Melancthon Smith

and Wm. Cadmus. In January, 1S72, this committee reported that the exigencies of the situation required immediate relief, and in February they recommended to the Board to lease the property bounded by Camden and Bank streets and Fairmount avenue, and to erect suitable pavilions thereon for the temporary care of the insane.

In 1S72 the Lunacy Committee erected buildings at a cost of $15,600 on the above site, which were opened for the reception of patients Aug 27, 1S72. Fifteen patients were transported from the State Asylum at Trenton, and nineteen were received from the Newark Almshouse. Major John Leonard was appointed

LIVINGSTON S. HINCKLEY, M. D., SUPERINTENDENT OF THE ESSEX COUNTY ASYLUM FOR THE INSANE.

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

49

MICHAEL T. BARRETT, STATE SENATOR.

GECIRGE W. KETCHAM, ASSEMBLYMAN.

warden, and Dr. J. A. Cross was elected to the position of physician. In 1873 the asylum contained sixty patients.

In 1S73 the Committee on Lunacy, composed of D. J. Canfield, Wm. Cadmus, Dr. David S. Smith, Ira H. Smith, D. M. Skinner and the director, Edgar Farmer, reported to the Board the

necessity of procuring a permanent site for the erection of an asylum forfuture needs. July 9, 1S74, various sites were reported to the- Board for selection. During this year it was found necessary to enlarge the Camden Street Asylum at an expense of $7,000 to accommodate the number applying for admission.

LEONARD KAL1SCH, ASSEMBLYMAN.

JOHN NEIDER, ASSEMBLYMAN.

NEWARK, X. /., ILLUSTRATED.

k.

bSJ, ft*

-

1

.

i\'"; '

£

* 1

1

% V

i

GEORGE RABENSTEIN, EX-ASSEMBLYMAN,

THOMAS SMITH, ASSEMBLYMAN, COMMISSIONER TO COLUMBIAN' EXHIBITION.

For the next two years matters progressed slowly in this ques- tion, public sentiment being thoroughly weighed, and the Board after numerous discussions, finally in 1878, when the Camden street register indicated that 200 patients were being cared for, decided to push the matter of building a permanent

asylum. The committee on site, after examining seven sets of plans, finally reported favorably upon the present one in 1SS0.

In May, 1SS3, the Lunacy Committee reported 333 patients at Camden Street Asylum and presented the overcrowded condi-

CHARLES TREFZ, EX-ASSEMBI.YMAN.

JOHN J. BERTRAM, EX-ASSEMBLYMAN.

NEWARK, N. J., ILLUSTRATED

5i

THOMAS F. CAVANAGH, ASSEMBLYMAN.

ARNER KALISCH, COUNSELOR-AT-LAW.

tion, recommending that addition be made to accommodate 100 more without delay. The new building had thus far cost $86,000, and was far from completion to accommodate the patients at Camden Street Asylum. The warden reported during that year that to date, that by the adoption of count)' care for the insane, that Essex county had been saved up to date §248,895.58, com- pared with State Asylum charges.

In 1SS3 the Grand Jury, of which Leslie D. Ward was foreman, made a presentment advising better direct medical care of the insane in the County* Asylum.

At the September meeting, 1884, James E. Howell introduced the resolution changing the system of internal management, i. e., placing a competent physician in full charge as superintendent, which was adopted.

On November 9 the patients^were removed from Camden street to the new building on South Orange avenue, 351 in all.

On December 15, at the meeting of the Board, Dr. Livingston S. Hinckley was elected to the office of Superintendent and commenced the duties November 19, 18S4. Since this time the asylum has grown to enormous proportions, the number of patients have in- creased to 570, and at this writing the final wing of the building which was. added this year is Bear- ing completion. Dr. Hinckley's ten years' experience has been of benefit to this important charge, and the reputation of the as)dum is very good. It is classed as a standard institution, its percentage of recoveries is very high and the mortality very low, and the people of Essex county are to be congrat- ulated in that, aside from caring for their insane at home, they are saved over fifty thousand dollars per year by the method.

Xhe Internal Revenue Department.

SINCE the enactment by Congress of the law of Jury 1, 1862, entitled "An act to provide Internal Revenue to support the Government and to pay interest on the public debt," the city of Newark has been the seat of one of the most important collec- tion agencies of the Government.

When at the outset, the necessities of the Government required taxes from all possible sources, the State was sub divided into five collection districts, Newark being the headquarters of the " 5th." As from time to time the tax was removed from different articles, the number of the districts was reduced until now there are but two in the State. The First District with headquarters at Camden, and the Fifth with headquarters at Newark, all the others having been merged into the present Fifth District, while

IIP--' 4t:;;

-v- "\

'' 1

| .

v w**.

w

•■A

V'"' '^fksymP^-

; : ' j : '

jlIM?

i&HI

Vf""'

as1 ^?j

jl::8IEH 8pl--J

j— MMn

^^

/; ::

■5

:; ';---

—:--.:; ;■;.■■■ '--■■-- i

VIEW AT WASHINGTON' PARK, ADJOINING WASHINGTON PLACE.

52

NEWARK, X. /., ILLUSTRATED.

. ^^^^^tStt^c\

m

...

5N|£

^

HHH* 1

DR. D. M. DILL, PENSION SURGEON.

DR HUGH P. RODEN', PENSION SURGEON.

internal taxes are collected from the manufacture and sale of fermented and distilled liquors, cigars, tobacco and oleomarga- rine, only.

The Fifth District now comprises the counties of Essex, Union, Hudson, Passaic, Middlesex, Morris, Bergen, Sussex, Somerset, Warren and Hunterdon, with its main office in the Government building at Newark, an auxiliary office in Jersey City, and stamp selling deputies at Paterson, Millstone and Helmetta.

The total collections of the district for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1S91, were 84,005,411.71, of which 81 523,000 came from beer and 82,053,247 from tobacco ; the percentage of the total cost of the entire collections of the district amounting to the sum of 847,300.11, or 1. 18 100 per cent.

Of this vast sum the city of Newark and its immediate vicinity was a large contributor, with its eighteen breweries, its fourteen tobacco manufacturers, and its 21S cigar manufacturers. The

brewing interests alone paying about Si, 000, 000 in annual taxes.

The force employed in the Newark office in addition to the Collector, consists of one chief deputy, a cashier, six deputy collectors, two clerks, a gauger and messenger. Of these Mr. S. V. S. Bruen, the chief deputy, has occupied his present position for fourteen consecutive years, and by his executive ability and experience, has contributed largely toward maintaining the high grade the district has always sustained, both at Washington and with the patrons of the office.

There have been seven different collectors since 1S62, as follows: D. M. Wilson, to October 31, 1S65 ; A. H. Wallis, to October 31, 1S66 ; G W. Thorn, to March 31, 1S67 ; Jacob Weart, to June 19, 1S71 ; A. H. Wallis, re-appointed to May 20, 1S73 ; R. B. Hawthorne, to June 13, iSSs ; Samuel Klotz, to October 31, 1S89, and George H. Large, who was appointed November 1, 1SS9, and is now the Collector.

DR. J. J. DALY, PENSION SURGEON.

DENNIS II. BOUGHNER, BUILDING INSPECTOR, iS

THE NEWARK POST OFFICE.

#

==■** r^f&t

HE new building, now in course of

•is erection, in which the Post- 25) * ■) Office Department, the Custom

mk f '^ House and the [nternal Rev- ! enue offices are to be accommo-

dated, has long been needed in the city. The old building, which occupied a portion of the site on which the new build- ing is being erected, was 'out- grown for a score of years before Congress could be made to appreciate that fact, and when it made the appropriation for a new post-office building here it made it so sparingly as to be insufficient. The new building will, however, be an ornament to the city, and no doubt provision will be made for the enlargement which will be required ia a few years.

The greater part of the civil and criminal busi- ness of the United States Courts which are held at Trenton, comes from Newark, Jersey City and the northern part of the State, and provision should be made for holding sessions of these courts in Newark. Court rooms can easily be provided in the new post-office building, and much time and expense can be saved suitors, wit- nesses and others in the northern part of the State having business in the United States Courts. This needed convenience will undoubtedly be afforded in a few years at the utmost, and the cit}' may then feel that its growing necessities are

THE NEW POST OFFICE.

EDWARD L. CONKL1N, POSTMASTER.

WILLIAM F. UTTER, ASSISTANT POSTMASTER.

54

NEWARK, X. J. ILLUSTRATED.

\V. F. OTIS. SUPT. NEWSPAPER DEPARTMENT.

GEORGE TAYLOR, SUPT. REGISTRY DEPARTMENT.

recognized and provided for by the Federal Government, which has never been very generous to this rapidly growing city.

The present Postmaster of the city is Edward L. Conklin, who was appointed to this office in October, 1SS9, by President Harri son. He has been very painstaking and faithful in the perform ance of his duties, and is always alive to the growing needs of. the department under his supervision, and to the wants of the large and busy community transmitting mail matter through his office.

The financial matters pertaining to the office are ably taken care of by his assistant, William F. Utter, and as he had long- experience in theiPost-Office, he is well qualified to assist the Post- master in the management.

The carriers' department is in charge of William Saul as Superintendent, an old and tried employe, and one who knows

what a carrier ought to do and how the city should be served.

The clerks are in charge of William F. Otis, as Superintendent. He also has charge of the newspaper and periodical matter, and to him is due the methods used to bring the clerks up to a better or more proficient standard in the distribution of such matter.

The mailing department is presided over by James G. McKittrick, an old railway Post-Office clerk. His experience is of great benefit to the clerks, to whom they look for instructions.

George Taylor is Superintendent of the registry department, a position he has held fourteen years.

William L. Rabone is clerk in charge of the stamp depart- ment, and owing to the immense business done there, he has to be exceedingly careful and energetic.

Mr. Conklin is to be congratulated on having such an efficient corps of employes.

WILLIAM L. RABONE, CHIEF STAMP CLERK.

•JAMES G. MC KITTRICK, SUPT. DELIVERY DEPARTMENT.

NEWARK'S EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS.

HE city of Newark is abundantly supplied with ;X schools, public and private. Its free public school system is probably equal in efficiency to that of any city in the United States, and its standard is among the highest. The pupil in the public schools, entering at the most elemen- tary grade, is led on by easy and almost imper- ceptible stages, until he is either prepared for college, or for business life in case he does not desire academic training. Thoroughness is the inspiration and the aim of the system, and the watchword of the

teachers. It is intended that the pupils shall know perfectly, from root to branch, such subjects as are taught in the schools, and such is the discipline and efficiency of the system that even the dullard and the laggard cannot but choose to learn. The public school system is very near to the hearts of the people of Newark, who are watchfully jealous of their rights and of the integrity and efficiency of the system. And their jealous care and watchful anxiety is naturally represented in the Board of Educa- tion, whom the people elect as their trustees to manage and direct the schools. This board is at present composed of thirty mem- bers, A list of the Commissioners is herewith given. They

GROUP OF PUBLIC SCHOOL BUILDINGS.

56

NEWARK, X. /., ILLUSTRATED.

JOHN P. CONTRELL, SCHOOL COMMISSIONER.

HENRY C. KLEMM, SCHOOL COMMISSIONER.

are : Henry J. Anderson, John P. Contrell, Charles Hood, William Johnson, Samuel H. Baldwin, Charles M. Russell, Charles F. Kraemer, Miles F. Ouinn, John H. Manning, James P. McKenna, John B. Oelkers, John A. Loftus, Peter O'Brien, Matthew H. Thornton, Willam A. Clark, John E. Jones, William H. Dobbins, Joseph S. Vinson, Hugh McGlynn, John O. Hunt, Peter J. Bab- cock, Edward H. Hamill, James Mullin, Henry C. Klemm, Gott- fried Joithe, George Saupe, L. Eugene Hollister, James L. Hays, Ferdinand Heichemer, Joseph S. Sutphen.

The President of the Board of Education is ex-Senator James L. Hays ; Secretary, Mr. P. Lyndon Bryce ; Assistant Secretary, Mr. Elwood I. Shurts ; Superintendent of Erection and Repairs, William M. Freeman.

The Board appoints a Superintendent of Public Schools who

exercises a constant daily supervision over all the public schools in the city. This position has been ably and faithfully filled for years by William N. Barringer, Pd. D. Each school is directly managed by a principal, who superintends and directs the subor- dinate teachers, and whose duty it is to report to the Superin- tendent and the Board any irregularity that may occur, and to suggest whatever improvements may be necessary or useful to the school under his charge. This constant supervision and un- wearying watchfulness ensure the maintenance of a high standard in the schools and keep them abreast of the progress of the time. The city expended for the maintenance of the public schools in the year iSgi, $461,385.46. The number of children enrolled was 25,757, and the average daily attendance was 17,67s. In addition, there was an enrollment of 3,451 in the public evening schools,

WM. A. CLARK, SCHOOL COMMISSIONER.

CHARLES HOOD, SCHOOL COMMISSIONER.

NEWARK. N. J., ILLUSTRATED.

57

HUGH MC GLYNN, SCHOOL COMMISSIONER,

WILLIAM II. FREEMAN, SUPERINTENDENT OF REPAIRS.

making the total enrollment amount to 29,20s. The number of teachers employed was, male, 35; female, 414; total 449. The city owns 37 school buildings and rents 5, affording accommoda- tion for 439 class rooms, and a total seating capacity of 23,500. Additions are being constantly made to the accommodations, by the erection of new buildings and of additions to those already built. The endeavor being to keep pace as near as possible with the rapidly growing educational reeds of the city.

The Newark Technical School is the outgrowth of the Board of

Trade, and was organized in 1S84. The present officers are President ex-officio Gov. Leon Abbett ; Vice-president, James L. Hays ; Secretary, William N. Barringer, Treasurer, Moses Bigelow ; Trustees, Augustus F. R. Martin, George H. Phillips, Edward Weston and George H. Ketchem. The object of this school is, as its name implies, to give practical instruction in the mechanical arts.

The private schools and academies in the city are numerous and excellent.

PR. J. S. SUTPHEN, SCHOOL COMMISSIONER,

JOHN 0. HUNT, SCHOOL COMMISSIONER.

58

NEWARK, X. J., ILLUSTRATED.

Lafayette Street School.

THE history of the Lafayette Street Public School runs parallel with the history of the Fifth Ward. The territory lying east of the Pennsylvania Railroad, then the New Jersey Railroad, was constituted the Fifth "Ward of the city of Newark in 1S4S, and at that time embraced all the territory now contained in the Fifth, Tenth and Twelfth Wards of the city.

In the same summer the Common Council purchased three tracts of land which com- pose the present site, at a total cost of 82,333, and contracted for the erection of a two-story brick building for a school, at an additional cost of Ss.ooo, making the entire cost 87,333.

On July 3, 1S49, Samuel W. Clark was appointed principal of the male department, and Miss Mary Ward principal of the female department. The school was opened for the re- ception of scholars on the 27th

of July in the same year. It was conducted on the Lancastrian plan, one master having sole charge of the department. The teaching was in great part done by the older and more advanced

0-

.1 difc .. ; ■...'■■.*I*W|, ••^

^vljjpY

^m

.AFAYETTE STREET PUBLIC SCHOOL.

pupils, who themselves received instruction from the principal. Here were gathered in the male department 265 of the neighbor- hood, including many of the then famous " Rock Boys," a gang of hoodlums that terrorized that portion of the city.

In April, 1S57, Mr. S. W. Clark was transferred to the South Market Street School, then just completed, and Joseph Clark was transferred to the charge of this school from the Lock Street School in the Seventh Ward .

In 1S62-63 an addition was erected on the rear and the Primary School, heretofore located in Union street, was transferred to this building. About the same time the three departments were consolidated under the direction of the male principal.

In 1S77, 1SS1 and 1SS4, still further additions were made to the building, which now contains sixteen rooms, and seats 800 pupils, while the valuation has gone up from 87.333 to 850,000 at the present time. It is one of the most convenient of the school buildings of the city. From among its pupils are many who have occupied positions of trust and honor, and who are now found among our most esteemed citizens.

Principal Joseph Clark was born in Syracuse, New York, of New England ancestry, He received his education in the Fayetteville Academy, an institution of considerable note in that part of the State. He came to Newark in the fall of 184S. In 1S51 he was appointed as assistant teacher in the Lafayette Street Public School. In 1854 he was promoted to the principalship of the Lock Street (now Wickliffe) School, and in 1S57 he was transferred to the Lafayette Street Public School, where he still presides. During his long service in the schools of the city he has been closely identified with the interest of that portion of the city, and has been a prominent factor in the lives and character of a large number of those who are now our respected and influential citizens. He has been prominently connected with the Sixth Presbyterian Church, and in the Sunday-school and Church has always taken a prominent place.

JOSEPH CLARK, PRINCIPAL.

NEWARK, N /., ILLUSTRATED.

59

:'-:7rF</j P-- i~a ";d-_.-yj t^v- v^:-a > <-\-^i

NEWARK ACADEMY, HIGH AND WILLIAM STREET;

THE NEWARK ACADEMY.

IN the year 1792 a number of the citizens of Newark formed an association for the purpose of establishing a school which should meet the wants of the village and the surrounding com- munity.

Having agreed upon a plan, they purchased a piece of ground on the corner of Broad and Academy streets, where the post-office now stands.

S. A. FARRAND, PRINCIPAL.

In the erection of this building St. John's Lodge of Master Masons united, in consideration of enjoying forever the exclusive use of its third and uppermost story.

Among the means used to raise money for the new school was a lottery authorized by the Legislature for that purpose, and among the subscriptions to the stock of the new enterprise was a negro slave, " James," who sold for forty pounds.

In 1795 the contributors were chartered as a stock company, the stockholders binding themselves by their charter never to divide any profits, but to devote all proceeds to the further development of the school.

The Academy acquired a wide reputation for thoroughness and efficiency, and was continued in the same building with varying fortunes until 1S55, when the property was sold to the United States Government for a Custom House and Post-office. The price received for it was $50,900, of which amount $10,000 was awarded to St. John's Lodge of Free Masons.

Two years later the trustees of the Academy purchased the property of the Wesleyan Institute, bounded on three sides by High, William and Shipman streets, where the school has since been located.

The school was opened in its new quarters in 1S57, under the charge of Rev. F. A. Adams, as principal, who resigned in 1S59, and was succeeded by Mr. S. A. Farrand, who remained in charge until 1865, when it passed into the hands of Mr. C. M. Harrison, who, a few years later was succeeded by Mr. C. M. Davis and Major Hopkins associate principals. In 1875 Mr. Farrand was again invited to take charge of the school, and since that time it has remained under his able management, the number of pupils at the present time being 240.

The course of study in the Newark Academy, beginning with the primary English studies, covers a thorough preparation for college, for the scientific school or for business life.

The present Board of Trustees (1S91) is as follows : Samuel H. Pennington, M. D., Charles G. Rockwood, Frederick W. Ricord, A. M., Horace N. Congar, Laban Dennis, M. D., Horace Ailing, William Rankin, Jr., M. D., George W. Hubbell, A. M., William T. Carter.

6o

NEWARK. X. /., ILLUSTRATED

ST. BENEDICT'S COLLEGE

FOR fourteen hundred years the Benedictines have figured prominently in the history of the world as missionaries, civilizers and educators. St. Augustine, the first Archbishop of Canterbury, and St. Boniface, who converted the Germans to Christianity, were Benedictines. The Danes, the Poles, the Dutch and the Bohemians were evangelized by members of the same order. During the first thousand years of its existence from the fifth to the fifteenth century it gave to the church 24 popes and 200 cardinals ; it had seen 7,000 archbishops of its

lineal descendants of the " famous Monks of the West," engaged, as their fathers have been for over 1,400 years, in tilling the soil, teaching the rude and ignorant useful trades, accustoming the idle and roving to profitable industry, building schools and colleges for the education of all, but especially for the higher education of the children of the poor.

In this chain of Benedictine abbeys and colleges, St. Mary's Abbey and St. Benedict's College, of Newark, forms a not un- distinguished link. Here, as it is and has been in all places and

ST. BENEDICT'S COLLEGE, HIGH STREET.

rule, and 14,000 bishops. In England the Benedictines occupied .113 abbeys and cathedrals, including Westminster Abbey and many others almost equally famous. In Scotland they numbered among their monasteries Iona, Lindores and Melrose. At one time the sum total of their houses footed up the magnificent sum of 15,000, so many refuges of art and letters, where, protected by a religious halo, their inmates kept alive the sacred lamp of literature, when outside their walls the world was given up to rapine and civil war.

After centuries of decline, our own age has witnessed the marvelous rejuvenation of this ancient order. It is rapidly regaining its lost ground in Europe, and off -shoots of the parent tree have been planted in the virgin soil of Australia and New Zealand. In the United States there is not a section, east, west, north or south, without its large abbeys and numerous dependent priories. From New Hampshire in the East, to Oregon in the West ; from the hyperborean regions of Minnesota to the sunny clime of Florida, there is scarcely a State or Territory without its

times since' the foundation of the order, the school or college is inseparable from the abbey. While a large amount of public and private ceremonies and prayers is included in the duties of a monk, it is also the aim of the " learned Benedictine " to be a, man of science, a scholar and a schoolmaster. St. Benedict's College has been before the public now almost a quarter of a. century— 1S68 to 1892 and has conscientiously and unostenta- tiously striven to carry into effect the intention of its founders. While instructing, with a preference, in those branches which pertain to a liberal education, the knowledge of which is indis- pensable to those who wish to enter the ranks of the clergy or embark in any professional career, it has not neglected the needs of those whose circumstances or inclinations induce them to- prefer the commercial to the classical course. By all means in its power, it seeks to make its pupils Christian gentlemen, serviceable to their fellowmen, lovers of their country and faith- ful to their God.

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

61

ST. VINCENT'S ACADEMY, WALLACE PLACE, WARREN, CABINET AND BRUCE STREETS.

ST. VINCENT'S ACADEMY.

THIS institution, founded in 1869 by the Most Rev. Bishop Bayley for educational purposes, is under the patronage of the Rt. Rev. Bishops of Newark. The location is upon very high ground and is unsurpassed for healthfulness. It is easy of access ; the Bank Street and the Littleton Avenue horse-cars pass the Academy to and from the main depot, Market street, of the Perm. R. R. in Newark.

It offers superior attractions to parents who desire to give their children a useful as well as thorough education ; and it will be the constant endeavor of the Sisters to instill into the minds of their pupils, principles of virtue andreligion ; to accustom them to a polite and amiable deportment, as well as to habits of order and neatness.

The present large and extensive building, erected in 1SS8, is furnished with all the modern improvements requisite in a thorough course of study. Ample ground has been reserved exclusively for the necessary out-door exercise of the pupils ; besides, when the weather permits, they are obliged to take, daily, about an hour's walk, accompanied by one or more of the Sisters.

the fall of 1S65 St. Mary's Academy was opened. Part of the building was at this time a hospital. St. Michael's Hospital was not in existence then. In 1874 the old "Ward Mansion'' was razed, and the present beautiful building was erected in its stead. St. Mary's Academy has ever stood among the first in the city, regarding numbers and success of its pupils.

ST. MARYS ACADEMY.

ST. MARY'S ACADEMY was at first known as the " Ward's Estate," and was pur- chased in 1S59 by Rt. Rev. J. R. Bayley, first bishop of Newark. It was occupied by the Sisters of Charity, as their Mother House, till they removed to Madison, N. J., in 1861. After this the building was used as St. Mary's Orphan Asylum till 1865, when the Orphanage at South Orange was ready for the orphans. In

ST. MARYS ACADEMY, WASHINGTON AND BLEECKER STREETS.

62

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

Tfilg (yS&JElll-KUs}

JlBJillJlKlEB^

^tfi:

NEWHHK.N.J

THIS institution was founded by Prof. Martin Mulvey, A. M., in 1SS1, to carry out an idea to which he had given much study and thought. This idea is that a business school should be a reflex of business life ; that the practice of business is just as important to students as the practice of book-keeping, and that the two should go hand in hand from the beginning to the end of the course. The college is located at Nos. 215 and 217 Market street, (Centennial Buildings.)

All Actual Business, therefore, is the motto of the school, and

a proof of the wisdom of its founder in adopting that motto is the fact that other leading schools throughout the country are follow- ing suit, and the time will certainly come when all business schools worthy of the name will embrace the same idea.

Like all institutions destined to survive the Newark Business College encountered great difficulties in its infancy, but its principle was right and it was bound to prevail, so that now it is firmly established on a sound fianancial basis, and it has a prom- ising future .cf good works before it.

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

63

NEW JERSEY BUSINESS COLLEGE

New Jersey Business College.

FEW cities have educational institutions of a higher character than are to be found in Newark, and where they are conducted by better informed or more thorough, competent teachers. Especially is this so in regard to the schools where mercantile and business education in general is taught.. These institutions are termed Business Colleges, and are conducted for the special purpose of fitting young men and women for business and clerical life.

Among the most popular and best patronized of these colleges is the New Jersey, at 764 and 766 Broad street, of which Prof. C. T. Miller, a thoroughly competent educator is the proprietor and principal. Such a remarkable aptness has Prof. Miller shown for fitting young men and women for business pursuits that thousands who have had the benefit of his instructions are uow engaged in successful business or are filling responsible positions as book-keepers, accountants, secretaries, clerks, salesmen, etc., not only in Newark but in the principal cities and towns throughout the country.

The New Jersey Business College was established in the fall of 1874, with the enrollment of a very small number of pupils, when Prof. Miller began his business life, and now his college has a standing equal to any Business College in this country, and has an enrollment of more than three hundred and fifty pupils annually. At each of its succeeding commencements many of its students go forth from the college halls bearing the parchment of honor and diploma of fitness to uphold the business industries of the city, state and country.

The course of study is of the most thorough and systematic character, embracing as it does, book-keeping in all its details, theoretical and practical. Business penmanship likewise under the direction of accomplished penmen, is made an important feature. Type-writing is also taught.

That the Business College of to-day is an important factor in furthering the business interests of the community, is a fact that needs but the stating to prove its truthfulness, as is seen every day. The time was when merchants educated their own help, but now they demand efficiency when employing.

The faculty of the college is made up as follows :

C. T. Miller, principal and lecturer on book-keeping, actual business, correspondence, commercial law, penmanship, arith- metic, etc.

L. L. Tucker, teacher of book-keeping, commercial law, cor- respondence, penmanship, arithmetic, etc,

C. D. Clarkson and A. L. McClosky, teachers of actual practice, arithmetic, correspondence, commercial law, penmanship, etc.

J. A. Beecher, Esq., (of the Newark Bar), lecturer on commer- cial law.

Gustavus Fischer, A. M., teacher of German.

Miss Mamie E. Dolan, teacher of phonography.

No other school in the city is so advantageously located. All the street car lines, but one, pass the door, or are less than a block away, and all the principal depots are within short walking distance.

In the immediate vicinity are the leading banks and insurance companies of the city, and the principal business houses are close at hand. The Board of Trade of Newark occupies a portion of one of the College buildings. It is believed that the presence of so many and such important interests cannot but have a beneficial influence.

%

C. T. MILLER, PROPRIETOR AND PRINCIPAL.

64

NEWARK, X. J., ILLUSTRATED.

VIEW OX BROAD STREET, LOOKING NORTH, AND SHOWING COLEMAN NATIONAL BUSINESS COLLEGE BUILDING.

THE COLEMAN BUSINESS COLLEGE.

THE name of Coleman is an ever familiar one in the banks, insurance and business offices throughout the city and State, and few men as educators deserve a better need of praise than that which falls to Mr. Coleman from the lips of thousands of

HENRY COLEMAN, PRESIDENT OF COLEMAN COLLEGE.

business men who are recipients of his favors in the young men and women whom he has educated and who are holding important positions as secretaries, accountants, book-keepers, clerks, etc.

To Henry Coleman has been imparted that peculiar gift by nature which is vouchsafed to few, that is the faculty of inspiring- others with the belief when teaching that he not only has a per- fect knowledge of what he proposes to teach, but knows just how to impart it to others.

More than thirty years of his life has been spent in imparting business learning to that class of our young people who years ago would have spent quite treble the time in getting the like inform- ation by practice behind the counter, close applied desk work, and bitter hours of disappointing toil. Prof. Coleman stands at the head of one among the largest and best Business Colleges in the country. It is located at S32 to S42 Broad street, in elegantly fitted up rooms in what are known as the Central Railroad Buildings. The College bears his own name, and here gather during each year hundreds of pupils who are in pursuit of busi- ness learning. In carrying on the College he is assisted \>y a corps of teachers, all of whom he has drilled in his own peculiar methods, that his ideal institution may be kept up to its high standard and fully abreast of the times. It has all the necessary books and papers, and all the paraphernalia of a first-class Business College.

It is just such institutions as this over which Prof. Henry Coleman presides, which has given the city of Newark its advanced place as an educational centre.

Young men or women who have either a business, mechanical or scientific turn of mind, can now find in this rapidly growing city and its wonderfully attractive environments as fine oppor- tunities as any place offers in the country in which to get an education. A place in which are the homes of the greatest of the world's electricians, and where are located the workshops for the construction of the births of their marvelous genius.

NEWARK, N. J . ILLUSTRATED Public Schools.

65

r

'HE public schools are open to all. No distinction is

made in birth, place or station,

race or color. High and low,

rich and poor, black and white,

are alike invited to come and

partake of the rich educational

feast kept continually spread in

all sections of the city, in the

very best public school build- ings ever erected, and supplied

with a full corps of carefully

selected teachers and assis- tants. These schools are under

the control of the Board of

Education, who are selected

from among the people of the

several wards for their peculiar

adaptability for the position.

On the selection of men for

positions of School Commis- sioner there is in all probability

a greater care exercised than

for membership in any of the other governmental and executive bodies of the city. This is as it should be, for there is no position that a man can be called on to fill requiring a better judgment or more decidedly careful reasoning or acting. Nor are there any with

DR. CHARLES F. KRAEMER, SCHOOL COMMISSIONER .

PRINCIPAL HENRY J. DOUGHERTY.

results more far-reaching. Either munity, has no institution so grave exercise of its fraternal care for its unstinted hand through the State purpose of paying the teachers and ter months to keep the buildings future citizens of the city, State it seems that there should be those recipients of the blessings flowing and such it is regretful to state is of the children is compulsory, the those who refuse its far reaching Few likenesses in this book will of Stacy B. Rittenhouse, who repre- Second ward, for four years, during the conduct of public school affairs portant committees of the Board. School was erected in 1S71, and

EIGHTEENTH AVENUE

for the weal or the woe of a com- an influence. The State, in the children, supplies the money with Board of Public Instruction for the providing the fuel in the cold win- warm, in which are gathered the and Republic. How passing strange who stoutly object to being the from these educational institutions, the fact and although the education law compelling the attendance of and beautiful benefits needs change, be recognized more easily than that sented the old Tenth, now the which time he was very active in and served on some of the most im- The Eighteenth Avenue Public opened the same year, as a pri-

mary school, under the principalship of J. Ward Smith. It comprised eight classes and with the Morton Street School was equal to the demands of the ward. At present, with a registration of 1,284 as per last report, it is but one of four populous schools, the Morton

Street, Monmonth Street and

Waverly Avenue schools, which

are taxed to their utmost, to

meet the requirements of the

wonderful growth in population

of the old Nineteenth ward. In

1873, the school was enlarged

by the addition of a great " T,"

which extended to and fronted

on Elizabeth avenue. It was

then made an intermediate

school with seventeen classes.

Principals Schulte, Maclure and

Kennedy were successively in

charge until 18SS, when Prin- cipal Dougherty, of the Walnut

Street School, the present in- cumbent, was made its princi- pal. Under his management it

was advanced to the grade of

grammar school, and it now

numbers nineteen classes. It

opened as a night school in 1891.

STACY B. RITTENHOUSE. DRt ELy J. JANES, SCHOOL COMMISSIONER.

66

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

PARK PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH.

DURING the year 1S4S, sixty-one members of the First Presbyterian Church organized a religious society under the style of the " Park Presbyterian Church of Newark, N. J." The first pastor of the church was the Rev. Ansel I). Eddy,

D. D. Among the original and charter members are the names of many who are well known in this city, as Stephen Dodd, James H. Clarke, Humphrey B. Dunham, Richard Hall, Maria

E. and Sarah E. Searing, George C. Dodd, Edward A. and Amanda Crane, Ezra Bolles, Benjamin F. Harrison, Charles D. Crane and many others.

Among its earliest elders were Stephen Dodd, Otis Boyden,

October 6, 1S74. Dr. De Veuve resigned the pastorate in March,. 1S79.

In 1S79 a unanimous call was extended to Rev. J. Clement. French, D. D., who had been pastor of the Central Congrega- tional Church of Brooklyn for fourteen years, and of the West- minster Church of that city for five years.

Dr. French was installed as pastor of Park Church in October, 1879. At that time the membership was 164.

From the first the seating capacity of the edifice was too small for the attendance. In 1SS4 it became absolutely necessary to- enlarge the building. On Sabbath morning, April 20, $18,000-

PARK PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, BELLEVILLE AVENUE AND KEARNY STREET.

Richard Hall, David C. Dodd, Terah Benedict, Lewis C. Grover, Stephen R. Grover and William Ashley,

The session, in later years, has included Francis K. Howell, James S. Higbie, Stephen J Meeker, Dr. Edward P. Nichols, Elbert H. Baldwin, Edwin J. Ross, Joseph A. Hallock, Albert T. Freeman, James Mawha, William J. Rusling, Aaron King, Alexander Beach. Edward N. Crane, Elias F. Morrow, Edward E. Sill, Edward B. and George H. Denny, Hugh Haddow, Alvah W. Osmun and others.

Rev. Dr. Eddy was succeeded in the pastorate by Rev. Henry A. Rowland. D. D., Rev. James G. Hamner, D. D., Rev. Joel Parker, D. D., Rev. Prentiss De Veuve, D. D., the last named of whom was influential in securing the removal from Park street to the present site of the church, m Belleville avenue corner of Kearny street.

The corner stone of the new building was laid May 22, 1S72. The dedication sermon was by Rev. William Adams, D. D.,

were subscribed for this purpose, afterwards more. Work was at once begun. The chapel, Sunday-school rooms and the rear of the auditorium were taken down.

On April 20, 1SS5, the church building increased in its seating- capacity to about Soo, and changed in all its interior architecture and adornments, a new chapel, Sabbath-school rooms, primary department room, Bible class rooms, study and other necessary apartments, were complete and dedicated on the evening of that day.

In the autumn of 1SS6 it was resolved to extend the work of the church in some portion of the city more greatly in need of evangelical labor.

Careful survey of adjacent territory resulted in selecting the neighborhood of the stone quarries, on Mt. Prospect bill.

On the evening of October S, 1SS6, the first neighborhood prayer-meeting was held at the house of Mrs. Sarah Phillips, No. 200>£ Parker street, with an attendance of thirty. Weekly

NEWARK, N. /., ILLUSTRATED.

67

INTERIOR VIEW OF PARK PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, CORNER BELLEVILLE AVENUE AND KEARNY STREET.

meetings were held in private houses, with constant increase of numbers and interest, until it became necessary to rent a small public hall on Bloomfield avenue. This place soon proving inadequate to the need, Park Church built and furnished, free from debt, and at an expense of §5,000, a pretty little chapel on Aqueduct street. It was dedicated Thursday, Nov. 17, 18S7. Prayer-meetings were held regularly, and preaching services occasionally, until in 1S8S, it was decided by the session that the chapel work required more constant attention and labor.

This work was given to Mr. Alfred Nicholson, of the Senior Class at Princeton, who is now the installed pastor of the church, which was duly organized under the style of " North Park Presbyterian Church," in October, 1S90. It is still receiving some aid from the parent church, but is at present moving towards a change of site and the erection of a much larger and more elegant edifice on Parker street.

The membership of Park Church, at the time of the organiza- tion of " North Park," was between 800 and 900.

About 150 members were dismissed to form the new organiza- tion. The pew rentals of